FRANK LLOYD WRIGHT (1867-1959)
Wright was born in Richland Center WI. His original middle name was Lincoln. From 1885 until 1887, he studied mechanical engineering at the University of Wisconsin but dropped out after four semesters to work for Chicago architect Joseph Lyman Silsbee. In 1887 Wright left to work for Dankmar Adler and Louis Sullivan. After Sullivan caught him moonlighting on houses, Wright was fired. In 1893, Wright established his own office.
Wright stood for the philosophy of "organic architecture," which maintains that a building should develop out of its natural surroundings. His designs for both private and public structures were boldly original, and he rebelled against classic architecture and its traditional ornamentation. Wright initiated many new techniques such as the use of precast concrete blocks reinforced by steel rods and radiant floor heating. Besides architecture, Wright spent much of his time writing, lecturing, and teaching.
Wright was one of the greatest figures in 20th-century architecture, and because of his immense popularity he continues to be one of the only architects the average person can name. He was notoriously arrogant and his TV interview with Mike Wallace is a classic example. He was also on the 1950s TV show What's My Line.
Wright died in 1959 and unleashed a huge debate, still going on, about what constitutes a Wright house. Is it a house he personally designed and saw through to construction? Is it a house he designed but was built by staff after his death? Is it a house he designed but was built later by others outside of his followers? And what about modifications - just how many and to what extent do design changes make a Wright-designed house simply Wright-inspired? His body was exhumed in 1985 from Spring Green WI and moved to Taliesin West on the dying request of his widow, Olgivanna.
Wright has been studied more than any other architect. William Allin Storrer developed a numbering system which turned Wright-watching into a science. We focus only on his houses.
Interview by John Peter
Additional Resources: SaveWright, a listing of FLW homes on the market. Many thanks to Catherine Westergaard Cramer for her extensive research.
1889 - The Frank Lloyd Wright House and Studio, 951 Chicago Avenue, Oak Park IL. Playroom addition by Wright in 1894, commissioned 1893. Studio added in 1898, commissioned 1895. Converted into apartments by Wright in 1911. Converted back to the original Wright design by Clyde Nooker in 1956. Sold to the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust. Open for public tours.
1890 - The James A. Charnley Bungalow, 507 East Beach Road, Ocean Springs MS. Designed while Wright worked for Adler and Sullivan. Damaged during Hurricane Katrina then restored. Wright also designed an octagon guest house for Charnley at 509 East Beach Road.
1890 - The Henry N. Cooper House and Stable, La Grange IL. Designed while Wright worked for Adler and Sullivan. Unbuilt.
1890 - The Louis H. Sullivan Cottage and Stables, 100 Holcomb Boulevard, Ocean Springs MS. Designed while Wright was working for Adler and Sullivan. The stables were destroyed in 1942. The house was destroyed during Hurricane Katrina.
1891 - The William Storrs MacHarg House, aka the C. H. Berry House, aka the Berry-MacHarg House, 4632 North Beacon Street, Chicago IL. Designed while Wright was working for Adler and Sullivan, unbeknownst to his employers. Remodeled in 1903 by Louis Sullivan. Destroyed in 1926.
1892 - The James A. Charnley House, aka the Charnley-Persky House, 1365 North Astor Street, Chicago IL. Designed while Wright was working for Adler and Sullivan. Commissioned 1891. Seymour Persky purchased it in 1995 and donated it to the Society of Architectural Historians. Open for public tours.
1892 - The Allison Harlan House, 4414 South Greenwood Avenue, Chicago IL. Wright was dismissed by Sullivan for moonlighting on this house for Harlan, one of the firm's established clients. According to the Harlan Family, Harlan demanded several changes to Wright's plan. The fireplace was moved from the central hall into the open living room, which was then divided into two parts. In about 1904, Harlan traded houses with his neighbors, the Byrneses, who sold Wright's structure in 1912. Vacant for years, it became a neighborhood hangout. For a short time it was used as a nursing home and then fell into ruin. A fire in 1963 caused enough damage to require demolition. Now part of Burnham Park, bottom photo.
1892 - The George Blossom House, 4858 South Kenwood Avenue, aka 1322 East 49th Drive, Chicago IL. Wright designed this on his own, outside of employment by Adler and Sullivan. Wright did a garage addition in 1907. Sold to Alice S. Baum. Sold in 2014 to Arthur J. Reliford Jr.
1892 - The W. Irving Clark House, 211 South La Grange Road, La Grange IL. Designed with E. Hill Turnock. Sold in 1999. Sold to the Camille Connolly family. Sold in 2019 to the Michael and Lynn Henderson Trust.
1892 - The Robert G. Emmond House, 109 South Eighth Avenue, La Grange IL. Sold to John Leigh. Sold to Brian A Opyd in 2014.
1892 - The Thomas H. Gale House, 1027 Chicago Avenue, Oak Park IL. Owned by James Dee. Was for rent in 2011. Sold in 2014 to Richard Easty. Sold in 2016 to Patrick Michael Jago.
1892 - The Warren McArthur House, 4852 Kenwood Avenue, Chicago IL. Wright designed this on his own, outside of employmet by Adler and Sullivan. Wright did a house remodel and added stables in 1900. As of 2008, owned by Ruth Michael. Sold in 2012 to Louisa McPharlin. Sold in 2016 to Andrew Cleland.
1892 - The Robert P. Parker House, 1019 Chicago Avenue, Oak Park IL. Owned by Michele Carbone. Sold to William Ferdinand. Sold in 2012 to Krista Ferdinand. Sold in 2014 to Mary Hamilton. Sold later in 2014 to Paul Sternhagen.
1892 - The Albert W. Sullivan House, 4575 Lake Park Avenue, Chicago IL. It was recognized in February 1960 by the Commission on Chicago Architectural Landmarks as a Chicago Architectural Landmark. Destroyed in 1970. As of 2008, a vacant lot.
1892 - The George and Carrie Blossom Cottage, North Manitou Island MI. Photo by Kerry Kelly.
1893 - The Walter M. Gale House, 1031 Chicago Avenue, Oak Park IL. Owned by Michele Carbone.
1893 - The William H. Winslow House and Stables, 515 Auvergne Place, River Forest IL. Sold to June S. Walker. Sold in 2016 to Susan Vogt.
1893 - Francis J. Woolley House, 1030 Superior Street, Oak Park IL. Sold in 1994 by Harriette and Everette Cluxton to Robert P. Allen. Sold in 1997 to Darrik E. Gurski.
1893 - The Robert Lamp Cottage, aka Rocky Roost, on Lake Mendota, Madison WI. Remodeled 1901. After college Lamp worked in the state land office. In 1892, he discovered a small island just off of Governors Island in Lake Mendota and built a cottage. By 1893 he and a partner built two more cottages, one by Wright. Both were destroyed by 1940.
1894 - The Frederick Bagley House, 121 South County Line Road, Hinsdale IL. Sold in 1978 to Jerry A. Goldstone. Sold in 2021 to Lukas Ruceker and Safina Oberoi.
1894 - The H. W. Bassett Remodeling, 125 South Oak Park Avenue, Oak Park IL. Bassett left Oak Park in 1900, but another physician, Leslie Beebe, occupied the space until 1921, probably leaving it intact. In 1922 all structures on the west side of Oak Park Avenue from Pleasant Street to South Boulevard, including the Bassett house, were demolished for the G. H. Schneider building, which still has stores and offices.
1894 - The Peter Goan House, 108 South Eighth Avenue, La Grange IL. Sold in 1992 to Richard and Joanne Lazarski.
1894 - Four Houses for Robert W. Roloson, 3213-19 South Calumet, Chicago IL. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1977 and designated a Chicago Landmark in 1979.
3213: Sold to Chicago Title Land Trust. Sold in 1990 to Paul and Gwendolyn Cohen. Sold to Sokoni and Ayana Karanja.
3215: Sold to Paul and Gwendolyn Cohen. Sold in 1997 to Vicki Crockett. Sold in 2009 to Vicki and Timothy Crockett. Sold in 2016 to Laura Bilson.
3217: Sold to Clarence and Carol Wood.
3219: Sold to the Charles F. Johnson Trust. Sold in 1995 to Helen West.
1894 - The Henry and Lily Mitchell House, 905 South Main Street, Racine WI. Sold in 1999 to John and Bridget Pettinger.
1895 - The Francis Apartments for Terre Haute Trust Company, 4304 Forrestville Avenue, Chicago IL. Destroyed in 1971. Google still shows an empty lot as of 2010.
1895 - The Francisco Terrace Apartments for Edward C. Waller, 237-253 North Francisco, Chicago IL. Built to house low-income families. In 1930 the apartments were converted into co-ops. Several units were gutted by fires. The property deteriorated, bottom photo. Facing condemnation in 1972 the residents boarded up the vacant units in an attempt to save the historic building. Later destroyed.
1895 - The Edward C. Waller Apartments, 2840-2858 West Walnut Street, Chicago IL. Destroyed after a fire in 1968 gutted unit #4.
1895 - The Nathan G. Moore House, aka the Hans Christian Andersen House, 333 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Wright did a remodeling after a fire destroyed much of the original house. Left to Mary Hills when Nathan Moore died, Hills sold it in 1947 to Milton and Mary Summerville. Sold to Bob Dugal. Was open for seasonal public tours until 2001. Dugal died in 2020; house status unknown.
1895 - The Chauncey L. Williams House, 530 North Edgewood Place, River Forest IL. Top photo by Peter Beers. Sold to John Kevin O'Donoghue.
1895 - The Harrison P. Young House Remodel, 334 North Kenilworth Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold in 1996 to Alicia and James Farrell. Sold in 2010 to Scott and Susan Caudell.
1896 - The Harry C. Goodrich House, 534 North East Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold to William and Patricia Saltenberger. Sold in 1997 to Christopher and Kathleen Meyer. Sold in 1999 to Mary Ludgin and Mark Donovan. They put it into a trust in 2000.
1896 - The Isidore Heller House, 5132 South Woodlawn Avenue, Chicago IL. Sold around 2004 to Steve Goldstein and Emily Novick. 6100 sf. For sale 2012-2019.
1896 - The Charles E. Roberts House Remodeling and Stables, 321 North Euclid Avenue, Oak Park IL. The original 1879 architects were Burnham and Root. Sold in 1994 to Martin and Deborah Lindenmeyer. Sold in 1999 to William J. Gradishar and Cynthia Boyd. Sold to William J. Gradishaw and Cynthia Boyd.
1896 - The George W. Smith House, 404 South Home Avenue, Oak Park IL. Commissioned 1895. Sold to Maria W. Armstrong. Sold in 2011 to the Karen Ley Trust.
1897 - The George W. Furbeck House, 223 North Euclid Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold to Audrey Kouvel. Sold in 2014 to Maria Ilic.
1897 - The Rollin Furbeck House, 515 Fair Oaks Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold to La Salle National Bank. Sold in 1998 to Thomas and Debra Abrahamson.
1897 - The Thomas H. Gale Cottage, 5318 South Shore Drive, Whitehall MI. Sold in 2002 to Gale Cottage LLC. Available for vacation rental.
1898 - The Edward C. Waller House, River Forest, IL. Unbuilt. Waller was not only a client of long standing, but also a close friend. Most of the architectural work that was proposed for Waller concerned itself with large housing projects and civic projects. But a house was designed for him early in 1898, which he did not build, Rather, he commissioned Mr. Wright to remodel his existing house in River Forest, below.
1899 - The Joseph and Helen W. Husser House, Chicago IL. The open land between the house and the lake was taken over by apartment houses. Destroyed in 1926.
1899 - The Edward C. Waller Remodeling, Auvergne Place, River Forest IL. Wright also designed wrought iron fencingfor the house and a poultry house and stables in 1901. Destroyed in 1939. The stables were destroyed soon after that.
1900 - The B. Harley Bradley House, aka Glenlloyd, 701 South Harrison Avenue, Kankakee IL. BW photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO. Sold in 2005 to Municipal Trust Savings Bank. As of 2012, it is the office for the Community Foundation of Kankakee River Valley.
1900 - The Stephen A. Foster Summer Cottage and Stable, 12147 South Harvard Avenue, Chicago IL. Sold in 2005 to Michael Handy and Priscilla Alexander. Sold in 2020 to James Glover.
1900 - The Warren Hickox House, 687 South Harrison Avenue, Kankakee IL. Sold to James P. Brown.
1900 - The Edward H. Pitkin Summer Cottage, aka Aug-gahwaus, Sapper Island, Desbarats, Ontario, Canada. Frank Lloyd Wright was his neighbor in Chicago and he would commission him to build the 1400 sf cottage. Sold in 1916 to James Heyworth. The Marquandt family, descendants of Heyworth, owned it as of 2004.
1900 - The Henry Wallis / GoodSmith Summer Cottage, 3407 South Shore Drive, Delavan Lake WI. Upon completion, the property was sold to the GoodSmith brothers. Sold to the Dorrit J. Bern Trust. Bottom cottage photo courtesy of Mark Hertzberg, author of Penwern: A Frank Lloyd Wright Summer Estate.
There is a gatehouse, attributed to Wright, at 3301 South Shore Drive. There was also a boathouse, attributed to Wright, which has been destroyed, according to Carla Lind in her book Lost Wright.
1901 -The E. Arthur Davenport House, 559 Ashland Avenue, River Forest IL. Sold in 1990 to Ellis and Jeanette Fields. Sold in 2004 to Cheryl and Paul Harding. Renovated and restored 2006-2011. Second photo by John Clouse.
1901 - The F. B. Henderson House, 301 South Kenilworth Avenue, Elmhurst IL. Sold to David and Joyce McArdle. Sold in 1994 to Patrick and Joyce Fahey. Sold in 2002 to the FLW Conservancy. For sale 2008-2019.
1901 -The Fred B. Jones House (top photo) and Boathouse (middle photos), aka Penwern, 3335 South Shore Drive, Delavan Lake WI. Commissioned 1900. Wright designed a gate lodge (bottom photo) and stables in 1903. Details and top photo courtesy of Mark Hertzberg, author of Penwern: A Frank Lloyd Wright Summer Estate.
1901 - The Frank W. Thomas House, 210 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Commissioned by James Rogers for his daughter and her husband. In 1972 it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. Sold to Kevin M. Murphy.
1901 - The Ward Winfield Willits House, 1445 Sheridan Road, Highland Park IL. Sold to Amalgamated Bank of Chicago. Sold in 2002 to Milton J. and Sylvie Robinson.
1901 - The William and Jessie M. Adams House, 9326 South Pleasant Avenue, Chicago IL. Commissioned 1900. Sold to Chicago Land Trust Company. Sold in 2006 to David and Jay Barclay. Sold in 2014 to Joan Papp.
1902 - The A. W. Herbert House Remodel, 1014 Hinman Street, Evanston IL. Wright gave the house a more Prairie look by enclosing the front porch and extending the eaves to the roof line. A fire in 1969 destroyed much of the house but it has since been remodeled. Sold to Kenneth Cutillo. Sold in 2013 to Kendra Chaplin. Sold in 2017 to Eric Johnson.
1902 - The Susan Lawrence Dana House, aka the Dana-Thomas House, 301 East Lawrence, Springfield IL. 35 rooms, 12000 sf. Sold in 1944 to Charles C. Thomas and used as his office. Sold in 1981 to the State of Illinois and opened to the public as a museum. Restored in 1987-1990. Open for tours.
1902 - The George and Mary Gerts Double Bridge Cottage, 5260 South Shore Drive, Whitehall MI. Sold to Clive and Laurel Cooper. Originally the addresses were 5260 and 5270. The design allowed for a wall between the units which was never built. The cottages are therefore open to each other. The bridge has always been a sleeping porch accessed from either cottage and leading to the other side of the creek.
1902 - The Walter Gerts Duplex, 5292 South Shore Drive, Whitehall MI. Has been relocated on the lot. Most of the original structure has been destroyed.
1902 - The Arthur B. Heurtley House, 318 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Most BW photos by Thomas A. Heinz. Sold to Edward and Diana Baehren. Sold in 2007 to T. Kendall Hunt.
1902 - The Arthur B. Heurtley Summer Cottage Remodeling, Les Cheneaux Club, Marquette Island MI. It is an island owned by a private club which counted such wealthy members as Henry Ford. The plan called for the conversion of a basement area into a dining room, removing old support columns, inserting new steel girders to support the floor above and let the new dining area become a free space.
1904 - The Mosher House, 629 South Main Street, Wellington OH. Alternate address 23467 State Highway 58, Wellington OH. There were questions that this was truly an FLW house, but Storrer believes that the floor plan and design are Wright's. According to Storrer's book in 2017, the design of the house appears to be based on one FLW did for a home at Greenleaf and 8th Street in Wilmette IL.
1902 - The Francis W. Little House I, 1505 West Moss Avenue, Peoria IL. Sold to Robert D. Clarke, who commissioned an addition in 1909. Sold around 1960 to the Swardenski family. The Central Illinois Landmarks Foundation gives tours with advanced arrangement.
1902 - The William E. Martin House, 636 North East Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold in 2008 to Richard and Laura Taleske. Sold in 2013 to Steven Poe.
1902 - The Charles R. Ross House, 3211 South Shore Drive, Delavan WI. Sold to the Barbara J Clark Lopresti Trust. Second photo by John Clouse.
1902 - The George W. Spencer House, 3209 South Shore Drive, Delavan WI. Sold to the Mary Ann Mueller Trust.
1903 - The George F. Barton House, 118 Summit Avenue, Buffalo NY. Sold to Martin House Restoration LLC. Top photo by Ed McEachern; second photo by John Clouse.
1903 - The Edwin H. and Mamah Cheney House, 520 North East Avenue, Oak Park IL. During the construction, a powerful attraction developed between Mamah Cheney and Wright. In time the lovers, each married with children, embarked on a course that would shock Chicago society and forever change their lives. Sold to Dale L. and Barbara Smirl. Second photo by John Clouse.
1903 - The Joseph J. Walser Jr. House, 42 North Central Avenue, Chicago IL.
1904 - The Highland Park House, Highland Park IL. Model for a suburban or urban lot. Unbuilt.
1904 - The H. J. Ullman House, Oak Park IL. Main living area is raised off the ground; overhanging eaves protect the window areas, and the fireplaces are grouped beneath one large chimney. Unbuilt.
1903 - The Warren H. Freeman House, 103 North Washington Street, Hinsdale IL. Sold to Bruce Ademec.
1904 - The Robert M. "Robie" Lamp House, 22 North Butler, Madison WI. Commissioned 1903. Sold to Apex Inc.
1904 - The Darwin D. Martin House, 125 Jewett Parkway, Buffalo NY. Commissioned 1903. B/W photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO. The house cost $300,000, an astronomical amount at the time. The family abandoned it in 1937 and it was foreclosed to the City in 1946. Sold in 1951 to the Catholic Diocese of Buffalo who never moved in. Sold in 1955 by architect Sebastian Tauriello, saving the house from demolition. Converted into three apartments. Sold in 1967 to University at Buffalo for use as a President's residence. Added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1975; became a National Historic Landmark in 1986. Sold in 2002 to the Martin House Restoration Corporation.
The Carriage House
The Eleanor and Wilson Greatbatch Pavilion Visitor Center, designed by Toshiko Mori, opened in 2009. A $50 million restoration project was completed in June 2017. Open for tours.
Wright designed a summer cottage for Martin in 1908. Unsure if built, but the plans were similar to the 1927 Greycliff house.
1905 - The Mary M. W. Adams House, 1923 Lake Avenue, Highland Park IL. Commissioned 1903. Sold to Jack and Nancy Sutherland. Sold in 2010 to William Levy and Patrick Schwartz. Named a city landmark in 2011.
1905 - The Hiram Baldwin House, 205 South Essex Road, Kenilworth IL. Sold in 1995 to Edward Kolodiziej Jr.
1905 - The Charles A. Brown House, 2420 Harrison Street, Evanston IL. Sold in 2001 to Paul and Jamie Collier.
1905 - The Thomas H. and Laura Gale Rental Cottages I, II, and III, 5324, 5370, and 5380 South Shore Drive, Whitehall MI. Photo is of 5380. 5324 sold to Bradley Birdick. 5370 sold to The Roberta Potter Trust. 5380 sold to Mike and Margaret Ward.
1905 - The William A. Glasner House, 850 Sheridan Road, Glencoe IL.
1905 - The Thomas P. Hardy House, 1319 South Main Street, Racine WI. Sold around 2012 to Gene Szymczak.
1905 - The Harvey P. Sutton House, 602 Norris Avenue, McCook NE. Sold to Donald Poore.
1905 - The William R. Heath House, 76 Soldiers Place, Buffalo NY. He was an attorney for the Joseph Larkin Company. Sold to Nancy B. Ellwood-Schmid. Color photos by Ed McEachern.
1905 - The A. P. Johnson House, aka the Campbell Residence, 3455 South Shore Drive, Delavan WI. Sold to James G. and Holly Campbell.
1905 - The Darwin D. Martin Gardener's Cottage, 285 Woodward Avenue, Buffalo NY. Photos by Ed McEachern.
1906 - The Kersey C. and Laura DeRhodes House, 715 West Washington Street, South Bend IN. The project architect for Wright was Isabel Roberts, a childhood friend of Laura. The house is almost an exact duplicate of the 1903 Walser house and 1903 Barton house. Laura commissioned it as a wedding present to Kersey. In her will, Laura left the house to the First Methodist Church of South Bend. The Church sold it almost immediately to a Masonic Lodge which used it as a dining hall. Sold in 1978 to Thomas and Suzanne Miller who did a restoration. For sale in 2021.
1906 - The Aline Devin Cottage, Eliot ME. Unbuilt.
1906 - The Grace Fuller House, Glencoe IL. Destroyed. The living room is the full left half of the house. Though no photos have been found to prove that the house was constructed, John H. Howe, head of Wright's drafting room at one time, has said that he knew the house even before he joined the Taliesin Fellowship.
1906 - The A. W. Gridley House, aka the Ravine House, 637 North Batavia Road, Batavia IL. Sold to third generation Gridley family member Mary L. Snow. Was on the market 2009-2012. Sold in 2012 to Peter and Laura Frost.
1906 - The Edward R. Hills House, aka the DeCaro House, 313 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold to Irene and Thomas DeCaro. Sold in 2001 to Sallie G. And Mark Smylie.
1906 - The P. D. Hoyt House, 318 South Fifth, Geneva IL. Sold to Patricia MacLachlan. There was a small fire in August 2012.
1906 - The George M. and Alice Millard House, 1689 Lake Avenue, Highland Park IL. Sold in 1992 to Juan and Claire Montenegro who did a full restoration. Sold in 2015 to R & G Residential LLC (Eric Rothner and Steven Miretzky).
1906 - The Peter A. Beachy Remodel, 238 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Photo by James McNally. Sold in 1977 to Gabriella Freese. There was a fire in 1990, after she remodeled back to the 1906 design. Sold in 2005 to Alexander and Alec Harris.
1906 - The Frederick D. Nichols House, 1136 Brassie Avenue, Flossmoor IL. Sold in 1996 to Carlton Keith Hult.
1906 - The C. Thaxter Shaw Remodeling, 3466 Rue Peel Street, Montreal, Canada. Destroyed in 1980. Wright designed a home for Shaw, a monumental granite structure. The costs proved to be too great, so Wright instead remodeled Shaw's Victorian townhouse, transfoming it into a Prairie style home.
1907 - The Stephen M. B. Hunt House I, 345 7th Avenue, La Grange IL. Sold to Edward and Mark Marcisz. Sold in 2014 to Jonathan Burke.
1907 - The Andrew T. and Jane Porter House, aka Tan-y-deri, Route 23, Spring Green WI. Built for Wright's sister Jane and her husband. Located on the Taliesin property.
1908 - The Edward E. Boynton House, 16 East Boulevard, Rochester NY. Sold in 1977; Kim Bixler grew up in the house. Sold to Jane Parker, Scott and Kathryn McDonald. Photos by Hans Padelt.
1908 - The Raymond W. Evans House, 9914 South Longwood Drive, Chicago IL. As of 2003, the owner was Barbara Lucente.
1908 - The Eugene A. Gilmore House, aka the Airplane House, 120 Ely Place, Madison WI. Sold to the Weiss family. Sold to Annette Beyer-Mears. Photo by Peter Beers.
1908 - The Samuel and Lena K. Horner House, 1331 Sherwin Avenue, Chicago IL. Destroyed 1952.
1908 - The Isabel Roberts House, 603 Edgewood Place, River Forest IL. Roberts was an architect who worked for Wright, one of the very few female architects in the country at the time an principal architect for this, her house. Sold in 1923. Sold to Warren and Ruth Terry Scott. Remodeled in 1955. Sold in 1998 to the William and Carol Pollack Trust. Sold in 2000 to Lorrie Dupont and Thomas N. Peterson. Sold in 2001 to FLW Building Conservancy. Sold in 2009 to Thomas N. Peterson. Sold in 2012 to Thomas N. Peterson Trust.
1908 - The Walter V. Davidson House, 57 Tillinghast Place, Buffalo NY. He worked for the Joseph Larkin Company. Sold to Davidson House, LLC. Photos by Ed McEachern.
1908 - The William H. Copeland Garage Addition, 400 Forest Avenue, Oak Park IL. Wright renovated the house a year later. Sold to Steven Ginsberg. Sold in 2006 to Heather Moore.
According to flw.org, the Bitter Root Valley Irrigation Company commissioned Wright to plan the vacation retreat and a series of buildings, including a clubhouse, over fifty-three cottages, and an administration building. Only twelve were constructed, and the project ultimately failed due to poor weather conditions and unreliable shipping to the area. The abandoned land office and a single three- bedroom cottage are the only remaining sites.
1909 - The Francis (Frank) J. Baker House, 507 Lake Avenue, Wilmette IL. Sold to Walter Sobel. Sold in 2019 to Eric and Amy Bauer who plan an extensive, multi-year renovation with local architect, Mike Venechuk.
1909 - The Laura Gale House, aka the Mrs. Thomas H. Gale House, 6 Elizabeth Court, Oak Park IL. Sold to Rachel Drake. Sold to Kurt Gustafson. Sold in 2010 to Victoria Kluth. Sold in 2017 to Andrea Kayne.
1909 - The J. Kibben Ingalls House, 562 Keystone Avenue, River Forest IL. Sold to John and Mary Tilton. Sold in 2017.
1909 - The Edward P. Irving House, 2 Millikin Place, Decatur IL. Sold to Gregory and Alice Brock. Sold in 2013 to Alan and Andreas Willis.
1909 - The Robert Mueller House, 1 Millikin Place, Decatur IL. Wright was out of the country at this point. The project architect was Marian Mahoney. She was hired by Hermann Von Holst in Wright's office. Von Holst tried to claim the plans as his, only later admitting the plans were hers. The landscape architect was Walter Burley Griffin. Sold in 1998 to Sherri Stroup Arnold.
1909 - The Adolph Mueller House, 4 Millikin Place, Decatur IL. Completed in 1911. He was the brother of Robert Mueller. The project architect was Marian Mahoney. Landscape architect was Walter Burley Griffin. Sold to Clarence "Red" Johnson, who donated it in 1993 to Millikin University as a President's House. Sold in 2003 to Robert and Sabrina Hund. Sold around 2009 to Marshall and Debra Smith. Empty in 2013. Sold in 2015 to Millikin University, again as a President's House.
1909 - The Oscar M. Steffens House, 7631 North Sheridan Road, Chicago IL. Sold in 1913 to Otto and Louise Bach (brother of Emil who also had a FLW house). Sold in 1924 and made into a restaurant. Transferred in 1960 to Bach's son. Sold in 1963 and destroyed. A 5-story apartment building was constructed in 1970. The address is now 7629 North Sheridan.
1909 - The George C. Stewart House, aka Butterfly Woods, 196 Hot Springs Road, Montecito, Santa Barbara CA. Sold in 1993 to T. C. Boyle. Deeded to a Boyle trust.
1909 - The Reverend Jesse R. Ziegler House, 509 Shelby Street, Frankfort KY. Photo by Kevin Abbott. Zieglermet Wright while sailing to Europe in 1909 and Wright agreed to design a home. One of Wright's colleagues did the drawings as Wright was out of the country. Built in 1910 with no supervision from Wright, the home was built by a local contractor. Sold to Edward and Sarah Stodola. Sold to Germine Harnois.
1910 - The J. H. Amberg House, 505 College Avenue SE, Grand Rapids MI. Commissioned 1909. According to Peter Beers, this house has only a tenuous connection to Frank Lloyd Wright. Wright received the commission to design the Amberg house from the parents of Sophie May (wife of Meyer May) in 1909. Later that year he left for Europe with Mamah Cheney and didn't return for two years. All of his commissions and work were left to architects working in his office, most likely for this house Marion Mahoney. Sold to Tom and Anne Logan. Sold in 2013 to Deborah Cloney and Scott Kammeraad.
1910 - The Harold McCormick Summer House, aka Villa Turicum, Lake Forest IL. 260 acres on Lake Michigan.McCormick hired Wright but Wright was fired when McCormick's wife, Edith Rockefeller McCormick (John D. Rockefellers daughter) hired architect Charles Plattto create an Italianate villa (bottom photo).
1910 - The Ingwald Moe House, 669 Van Buren, Gary IN. Commissioned 1909. In 1916, Moe became the unique local representative for the American System-Built scheme of housing, a Wright and Richards Company venture. Wright was out of the country, so Marian Mahoney did the design work. Maloney married landscape architect Walter Burley Griffin soon after this house was built. Sold to Carolyn and Mathew Murff.
1910 - The Frank Lloyd Wright and Mamah Borthwick Cheney Studio/Residence, Fiesole, Italy. Designed while living near Florence. Cheney was Wright's mistress at the time. The building was brought directly to the street edge permitting an enclosed and secluded garden within. Wright returned to America and it was unbuilt. In 1957 he proposed the same design for an American client living in Cuernavaca, Mexico, also unbuilt.
1911 - The Frank Lloyd Wright House, aka the Goethe Street House, Goethe Street, Chicago IL. Intended as Wright's home and office in Chicago. He had recently returned from Florence, Italy and his life was in turmoil from his affair with Mamah Cheney. In the center rises a tall loggia court, upon which all the other rooms open. Skylights atop the loggia fill the court with light. The cost of building the townhouse was not affordable. Unbuilt.
Wright's mother suggested he and his mistress Mamah Cheney take over her cottage in Spring Green WI, and he accepted the offer. This property became Taliesin, below.
1911 - Wright's own home and studio, aka Taliesin, aka Taliesin East, Spring Green WI. Open for tours, May through October. All tours begin at the Visitor Center across from the estate at 5607 Country Road C, Spring Green WI.
1911 - The Herbert and Blanche Angster House, 605 Bluff Road (formerly 191 East End Blodgett Road), Lake Bluff IL. The Angsters divorced in the 1920s and Blanche Angster continued to live there. She became reclusive, fenced off the property, and allowed it to deteriorate for 30 years until destroyed by fire in 1956. The remains were bulldozed over the bluff to the lake, and the street was later renamed and redeveloped with new houses.
1911 - The Oscar B. Balch House, 611 North Kenilworth, Oak Park IL. Sold to Timothy and Charlene Pearson. Sold in 2016 to Samantha Alexis Lotti.
1912 - The Avery Coonley House, 281 Bloomingbank Road, Riverside IL. Commissioned 1906. The plan was in a Chicago Architectural Club exhibition in 1907. Built of stucco and ornamental tile, Wright referred to this as his "best house" in one of his books. Sold to Arnold Skow who in 1950 divided the house severing the public space and the servants wing from the bedroom wing. The bedroom wing became 300 Scottswood Road, Riverside IL, bottom photo.
According to their son Jim Skow, the main house was sold in 1959 to Merrill and Jeanne Shepro. Sold around 1977 to Nick Salas after the death of Jeanne Shepro. There were many substandard fixes. Sold in 2000 to Dean and Ella Mae Eastman who did a restoration between 2000-2004. Both sections were for sale in 2015. The bedroom wing was sold in 2015 to John Fameda.
The coach house is now a separate residence with the address 336 Coonley Road.
The Gardener's Cottage has always been a separate structure and was part of the 1906 commission.
The irregularly shaped lily pond designed by Wright was converted into a rectangular swimming pool. There was a fire caused by the pool heater around 1978 (second from bottom photo by Thomas Heinz) which did extensive roof damage.
The Coonleys gave Wright a separate commission in 1912 to design what is popularly known as the Playhouse for Queene Coonley's preschool program. The Playhouse has long been used as a private residence.
1912 - The William B. Greene House, 1300 Garfield Avenue, Aurora IL. There was a 1926 addition by Greene's college roommate Harry Robinson. Sold in 2000 to Roger L. Hilpp.
1912 - The Francis W. Little House II, aka Northome, Wayzata MN. After Francis Little died in 1923, Mrs. Little gave the vacation home to Eleanor and her husband, Raymond Stevenson. Around 1951, the Stevensons sold their Minneapolis home, "winterized" the summer house, and moved in full time. They tired of maintenance and uninvited visitors. The Metropolitan Museum of Art bought the house in 1972, allowing the Stevensons to retain the land. Destroyed and dismantled in 1972. The living room, second photo, is displayed at The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City, installed by restoration architect Thomas Heinz.
The library, third photo, is displayed at The Allentown Art Museum, donated by Edgar Tafel, FLW Apprentice.
The hallway, fourth photo, is displayed at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts.
The bedroom wing, which include several rooms, was purchased by Tom Monaghan, founder of Domino's Pizza, and is reportedly in a warehouse in Ann Arbor MI. At the height of the 1980s art boom, Monaghan amassed an ambitious collection of Wright furniture and artifacts that he displayed at the Michigan headquarters of Domino's Pizza; now closed.
1913 - The Harry S. Adams House, 710 Augusta Avenue, Oak Park IL. Sold to D. M. P. Richardson. Photo by R. MvcNees.
1913 - The Sherman and Elizabeth Booth Honeymoon Cottage, 239 Franklin Road, Glencoe IL. Commissioned 1911. Sherman Booth, Wright's friend and attorney, lived here prior to Wright completing the Booth house at 265 Sylvan Road. Originally located at 201 Franklin Road and moved around 1920. Sold to an architect named Meyer. Sold in 1956 to the family of Doris E. Rudoff. Designated in 1996 as an Honorary Landmark by the Village of Glencoe. Sold by Rudoff's trustee on May 2019 to 239 Franklin LLC (Jean Jingnan Yang) who filed for a demolition permit with the Village of Glencoe. You can track that status here. As of May 23, the application was incomplete. Once completed, Yang must wait 180 days required for honorary landmarks. However, the Village has no legal recourse to prevent demolition. Landmarks Illinois and the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy are working to negotiate with the owner.
1915 - The Emil Bach House, 7415 North Sheridan Road, Chicago IL. Sold in 1934 to Joseph Peacock. Sold in 1951 to Manuel Weiss. Sold in 1959 to Joseph Blinder. Sold in 1999. Sold to the Toulabi family. Sold in 2005 to Jane Elizabeth Feerer. Sold in 2009 to James Pritzker.
1915 - The William J. Vanderkloot House, aka the Ida and Grace McElwain House, 231 Prospect Avenue, Lake Bluff IL. Vanderkloot was the developer and sold to the house's first residents, Ida and Grace McElwain. An American Built System home. As of 2012, owned by Edwin W. Still.
1915 - The Daniel and Lute Kissam House, aka the J. M. Compton House, 1023 Meadow Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs Development. Sold in 2010 to Peter VanVechten.
1915 - The Sherman M. Booth House II, 265 Sylvan Road, Glencoe IL. Sold to Theodore and Sonia Bloch. Wright also designed four smaller houses for resale and a charming bridge over the lot's ravine. Wright's first design for Booth's house, bottom photo, was never built. It involved a bridge over a ravine leading directly to the building itself. A two-story living room extends down into the ravine, and wings spread out from the central living room to other levels. For sale in 2018.
1915 - The Wilbur Wynant House, 600 Fillmore Street, Gary IN. The house was not discovered to be by Frank Lloyd Wright until 1995. This is an American System-Built Home Model D-101 and is the only known Wright house of that type. During the end of the house's lifespan it was in poor condition. The house was purchased in 2003 by David Muhammad who planned a restoration (see rendering, second photo). In 2006 a fire burned most of the house down. Rebuilding never happened and the house was destroyed around 2010.
1915 - The Edmund F. Brigham House, 790 Sheridan Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs development. Sold to Howard and Susan Siegel.
1915 - The William F. Kier House, aka the C. J. Ellis House, 1031 Meadow Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs Development. Sold in 2010 to Susan Ellis Cowen. Sold in 2018 to Eleanor Bingham Miller and Thomas Weinberg.
1915 - The William F. Ross House, aka the Frank Finch House, 1027 Meadow Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs Development. Sold to John Eifler, who did a renovation.
1915 - The Charles R. Perry House, 272 Sylvan Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs Development. Sold. Sold to third owners Joan and James Higa. Sold in 2012 to Margreatha Hein. Photos by Larry Malvin.
1915 - The Charles Heisen House, 346 East Highland Avenue, Villa Park IL. An American Systems Built House. Sold in 2004 to Jill and Christopher Quinn.
1915 - The Hollis R. Root House, aka the S. J. Gilfillan House, 1030 Meadow Road, Glencoe IL. Part of the Ravine Bluffs Development. Sold to Edward and Amrita Goldberg.
1915 - The H. Howard Hyde House, 10541 South Hoyne Avenue, Chicago IL. One of two models designed by Wright for a subdivision of prefabricated American-System Built Houses. Sold in 1999 to Martha and Joan Brennan. Sold in 2017 to Michael C. Wilk.
1915 - The Chester Bragg House, 6644 34th Street, Berwyn IL. An American System-Built House. Bragg was the ASBH dealer for this area. Sold to Marin Mendocino. Sold in 2010 to Christopher James.
1915 - The Arthur L. Richards House, 3424 Kenilworth, Berwyn IL. An American System-Built House built by Chester Bragg. Sold in 1995 to Jose Magana.
1915 - The Arthur L. Richards House, 3519 Home Avenue, Berwyn IL. An American System-Built House built by Chester Bragg. Has been remodeled; the Wright-nessis about gone. Sold in 1991 to William and Dawn Kazda.
1916 - The Lewis E. Burleigh House, aka the J. J. O'Connor House, 330 Gregory Avenue, Wilmette IL. An American Systems Built House. Sold in 2004 to Bennet and Piedal Kaye.
1916 - The Thomas E. Sullivan House, 336 Gregory Avenue, Wilmette IL. An American Systems Built House. Next door to the Burleigh house, above. Sold to Kathleen Lifton.
1916 - The C. E. Staley House, Waukegan IL. Staley was president of the People's Bank of Waukegan. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright. Unbuilt.
1916 - The Joseph J. Bagley House, 47017 Lake View Road, Grand Beach MI. Photo by Rick McNees.
1916 - The Rudolph Weisenborn House. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright. Unbuilt.
1916 - The Frederick C. Bogk House, 2420 North Terrace Avenue, Milwaukee WI. Sold to Robert and Barbara Eisner. BW photo by Thomas Heinz.
1916 - The W. S. Carr Summer House, 46039 Lake View Avenue, Grand Beach MI. Left photo is house, right after a remodel. Destroyed by 2005 and replaced around 2008 with a "jumbo prairie."
1916 - The Arthur R. Munkwitz Duplex Apartments, 1102-1112 North 27th Street, Milwaukee WI. Destroyed in 1973. There were two four-unit buildings. Bottom photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO.
1916 - The Arthur L. Richards Duplex Apartments, 2720-2722 West Burnham Boulevard, Milwaukee WI. Photos are of 2722. Sold in 2012 to Steve and Xiu Quong Martinie.
1916 - The Arthur L. Richards Houses, 1835 South Layton Boulevard and 2714 West Burnham Street, Milwaukee WI. Both of these houses are owned by Frank Lloyd Wright Wisconsin Inc., see Wright In Wisconsin. 2714 is open for tours and is an American System-Built Home, Model B1. 1835 is an American System-Built Home, Model C3.
1916 - The Ernest Vosburgh House, 46208 Crescent Road, Grand Beach MI. Photo by James McNally. Sold to Nancy Schmidt.
1916 - The Jerome Mendleson House, Thurlow Terrace. Unbuilt. Mendleson later chose architect Lewis Colt Albro.
1917 - 2106 East Newton Avenue, Milwaukee WI. Built by American System-Built Homes using Wright's plans without his knowledge. Wright didn't press the case in court, wanting to avoid publicity during the aftermath of his affair with Mamah Cheney and her subsequent murder. Both had left their spouses and children in order to live together and were the subject of relentless public censure. Sold in 1994 to Pat Wisialowski. Only in 2015 was it confirmed as a Wright design.
1917 - The Delbert (Del) and Grace Meier House, 402 North Page, Monona IA. This is an American System Built house. A porch extension and a garage were added in the 1960s. Sold to Michael Schreiber and Jason Loper, who are doing renovations. Top two photos by Kay Komuro.
1917 - 2107 West Lawn Avenue, Madison WI. An American System-Built House. In the 1920s, a kitchen and two bedrooms were added. Sold in 1989 to Linda and Bill McQuillen. Only in 2015 was it confirmed as a Wright design.
1917 - The Aisaku Hayashi House, Setagaya-ku, Tokyo, Japan. Imperial Hotel Manager Aisaku Hayashi was responsible for Wright getting the Imperial Hotel job in 1913. Wright's first residential project outside North America was for Hayashi and his large family. The house was remodeled repeatedly over the years and only the living room now remains faithful to the original design. It is not open to the public.
1917 - The Stephen M. B. Hunt House II, 1165 Algoma, Oshkosh WI. Sold to Harold Buchholtz.
1917 - The Oscar A. Johnson House, aka the Hanney House, 2614 Lincolnwood Drive, Evanston IL. Commissioned 1915. An example of the American System-Built scheme of construction, built by Hanney & Sons builders. Sold in 2008 to Stuart Wick and Suzanne Bost.
1917 - The Burhans-Ellinwood House, aka the Guy C. Smith House, 10410 South Hoyne Avenue, Chicago IL. A prefabricated American-System Built Houses. Sold to David and Debra Nemeth.
1918 - The Henry J. and Elsie J. Nuzman Allen House, aka the Allen-Lambe House, 255 North Roosevelt Street, Wichita KS. Commissioned 1917. The Allens continued to live in the house until late 1947. Sold to the Lambes. Given to the Wichita State University Endowment Association. Sold in 1990 to the Allen-Lambe House Foundation. Became a museum, open for tours by appointment only. BW photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1918 - The Arinobu Fukuhara House, aka Kanagawa-Ken, Hakone, Japan. Destroyed in an earthquake in 1923.
1918 - The Tazaemon Yamamura House, aka Hyogo-Ken, aka Yodoko Guest House, Ashiya, Japan. Open for tours on selected days.
1919 - The Workmen's Colony of Concrete Monolith Homes, Racine WI. Unbuilt. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright while Wright was in Tokyo.
1919 - The Mrs J. P. Shampay House, Beverly Hills IL. The client withdrew amid many personality and legal conflicts during the design stage. Model by Adrian Shih. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright. Unbuilt.
1920 - The Aline Barnsdall House, aka the Hollyhock House, 4800 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles CA. Commissioned in 1917. A fiercely independent and wealthy feminist, bohemian, devotee and producer of experimental theatre, Barnsdall was a very public single mother at time when women were not publicly single mothers. Top two photos by Michael Locke.
The house was donated to the City of Los Angeles in 1927. Renovated in 1947 by son Lloyd Wright, it became part of the Los Angeles Municipal Art Museum. Lloyd Wright, was commissioned in 1968 for a remodel of the gallery complex and fountain, unbuilt, but he was hired later for a successful overall 1974 renovation. First opened to the public as a house museum in 1976. Closed and restored again 2011-2015, then reopened for tours.
1920 - The Aline Barnsdall House A, aka the Directors House, 4804 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles CA. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright. Commissioned 1919. Was later used as classroom space by the Los Angeles Parks and Rec Department. In September 2019, the U.S. Department of Interior National Park Service awarded a $500,000 grant to Project Restore to preserve and repair Residence A. The award, one of five in the State of California and the largest, is made possible through the Save America's Treasures grant program, which is funded by the Historic Preservation Fund and administered by the National Park Service, Department of Interior. The investment by the City of L.A. helped leverage interest in additional funding, most recently this National Park Service Grant. Photo by Michael Locke.
1920 - The Aline Barnsdall House B, aka the Oleanders house, aka the Actors Abode, 645 North Vermont at Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles CA. It was an apartment house for actors. Designed by Rudolph Schindler while working for Wright. Barnsdall hired Schindler to do renovations in 1928. Commissioned 1919. Destroyed in 1954.
1920 - The James B. Irving Cottage, 1320 Isabella Street, Wilmette IL. Recorded as a "temporary house" for Irving to live while his primary house, below, was constructed. Designed by Rudolf Schindler while working for Wright. Sold in 2012 to Joe Catrambone, who took the house apart and planned to move the house to his Wauconda lakefront property in 2013.
1920 - The James B. Irving House, 1318 Isabella Street, Wilmette IL. Designed by John S. Ven Bergen while working for Wright. Sold to George Hausen. Sold in 2014 to 1611 Elmwood LLC. Sold in 2016 to Dawn Li and Eric Wald.
1921 - The Baron Shimpei Goto House, Tokyo, Japan. This was a commission undertaken while Wright was at work on the Imperial Hotel. The house was to be large and spacious for a family of substantial means. Unbuilt.
1923 - The Alice Millard House, aka the Mrs. George M. Millard House, aka La Miniatura, 645 Prospect Crescent, Pasadena CA. Wright's son Lloyd Wright did residence and studio additions in the 1920s and 1930s. Sold to David Zander in 1996. Restored by architects Marmol Radziner. For sale in 2009-2015. Sold in 2015 to Acme International Capital Management (David You and Jennifer Li). Top two photos by Scott Mayoral; bottom two photos by Michael Locke.
1923 - The Dorothy Martin Foster House, 12 St. Catherines Court, Buffalo NY. Unbuilt. Dorothy Martin was the daughter of Darwin Martin, a Wright client.
1923 - The Edward L. Doheny Ranch Development in what is now Beverly Hills CA. 411 acres. Commissioned 1922. Unbuilt. Wright may have prepared his design in the hope of gaining Doheny's interest, rather than as a response to a proposal request. The land was later developed as Trousdale Estates.
1923 - The John B. Storer House, 8161 Hollywood Boulevard, Los Angeles CA. Wright's son Lloyd Wright supervised construction and did the landscape design. Storer sold the house in 1927. Rudolf Schindler's wife, Pauline, rented the house briefly, and the home's fifth owners, Charles and Helen Druffel, were living here by 1935. For the Drufffels, Wright made some alterations to the house to block out the homes on the hillside towering above theirs.
Sold in the 1960s to Jerome Jacobi. In 1969 he commissioned Lloyd Wright for a remodel that was unbuilt. By the early 1980s, the house had seriously deteriorated and was on the market for three years. Sold in 1984 to producer Joel Silver who did an extensive restoration under the supervision of Wright's grandson, Eric Lloyd Wright, and Martin Eli Weil, past president of the Los Angeles Conservancy. Silver also restored the original landscaping and built a pool that had been planned but not built. Sold in 2002 to Richard P. and Jennifer Emerson. Deeded to their trust. Sold in 2015 to FLW LA LLC (architect Jon Stryker) who also bought the large house above this one in 2021.
1923 - The Ras-el-Bar Beach Cottages, Dumyat (Damietta), Egypt. Designed to be taken apart every year during the flooding season. Destroyed.
1924 - The Martin Sachse House, Deep Springs CA. Unbuilt.
1924 - House and Chapel, aka Desert Dwelling, for Albert M. Johnson, Grapevine Canyon, Death Valley CA. 1500 acres. Unbuilt.
1924 - The Charles and Mabel Ennis House, aka the Ennis-Brown House, 2607 Glendower Avenue, Los Angeles CA. Commissioned 1923. Wright's son Lloyd Wright supervised construction. Bottom two photos by Fritz Block.
In 1940 the house was sold to media personality John Booth Nesbitt. Nesbitt asked Lloyd Wright to design a remodel, but did not get built. Nesbitt then had it altered by Wright, bottom photo, adding a pool on the north terrace, a billiard room on the ground floor, and a heating system. Nesbitt moved out in 1942 to a house designed for him by Richard Neutra. The eighth owner was Augustus O. (Gus) Brown who bought it in 1968. In 1980 he donated the house to what became the Ennis House Foundation. Featured in House on Haunted Hill, The Replacements,Blade Runner and many other films.
Even before completion it had structural instability. More damage occurred due to the 1994 Northridge Earthquake and the record rain during 2004-2005. Basic shoring-up restoration work was completed in 2007 for $6.4 million. Sold in 2011 to Ron Burkle. As part of the transaction, Burkle provided public access to the house a minimum of 12 days per year. The easement stipulates this access for future owners of the home as well. Sold in 2019 to Ryan LLC (Cindy Capobianco and Robert Rosenheck).
1924 - Desert Dwelling for Frank Lloyd Wright, Death Valley CA. Unbuilt. Assumed to have been done in conjunction with his design for the Albert M. Johnson compound. He might have planned the studio as a personal retreat to be located on part of Albert Johnson's ranch, but this is speculation. Wright labeled the major spacea "cool patio;" octagonal in shape, it was to contain a circular pool at its center with an oculus in the ceiling above.
1925 - The Samuel and Harriet Freeman House, 1962 Glencoe Way, Los Angeles CA. Commissioned 1923. Wright's son Lloyd Wright supervised construction. Rudolf Schindler worked on the project and designed the furniture. As soon as Wright finished it, Harriet Freeman brought in John Lautner, Gregory Ain and Robert Clark for subsequent minor improvements. She lived in the house until 1986, when she donated it to the USC School of Architecture which opened it for tours. From 1986 to 1997, architect Jeffrey Chusid lived in the house as steward for the University. There was extensive earthquake damage. In 2005, a stabilization project funded by FEMA and $1.5M in USC funds kept the place from falling down. Sold in 2022 to Richard Weintraub with a full restoration planned. The terms of the sale will allow for public tours in the future. Top three photos by Michael Locke; bottom two photos by Fritz Block.
1927 - The Darwin D. and Isabelle Martin Summer House, aka Greycliff, aka Jewel on the Lake, 6472 Old Lakeshore, Derby NY. Built overlooking Lake Erie. In 1926, a garage was added. A second building (third photo) on the estate was built for Dorothy Martin Foster, their daughter. Sold by heirs in 1945 to an order of Catholic priests, the Piarist Fathers, who turned it into a boarding school and added several buildings, definitely not by Wright. Sold in 1997 to the nonprofit Graycliff Conservancy which did a restoration. Open for public tours.
1927 - The Alexander Chandler Hotel, aka San Marcos-In-the-Desert, near Chandler AZ. Not a house. Two homes were designed nearby, the Cudney House and the Young House, below.
1928 - aka Ocatillo, Frank Lloyd Wright's Desert Compound and Studio, Salt Range near Chandler AZ. Destroyed. This was FLW's base while he was working on San-Marcos-in-the-Desert for Alexander Chandler. Wright was spending so much time in the desert that he built a small very rustic compound which had drafting rooms, sleeping quarters, and a kitchen.
1928 - The Owen D. Young House, near Chandler AZ. Designed for one of Dr. Chandler's clients. This was another large-scale residence, and makes use of a most innovative variation on the regular grid system of the concrete blocks: they are turned on edge at 45 degrees. Many large rooms and ample guest facilities are provided for in this work, and the living room is treated like a solarium. The two homes as well as the hotel were designed for winter living only. The stock market crash of 1929 killed this project.
1928 - The Ralph and Wellington Cudney House, near Chandler AZ. Designed for two brothers, Dr. Chandler's clients. Designed on the 30-60 degree triangular motif. Everything conforms to this pattern of the triangle as an inherent design system of desert growth. It was to be a large house, with a two-story living room and wings extending out along an arroyo behind the house as an accommodation for guests. The stock market crash of 1929 killed this project.
1929 - The Richard Lloyd Jones House, aka Westhope, 3704 South Birmingham Avenue, Tulsa OK. The roof leaked from the very beginning. Aerial view from 1930. Sold in 1963 to architect M. Murray McCune who put it on the National Register. Sold to Dwight and Sandra Holden. Sold in 1992 to Sandra Tyson. BW interior photos by Thomas Heinz.
1929 - St. Mark's Apartments for William Norman Guthrie, New York NY. Commissioned 1925. Although the project was unbuilt, the concepts materialized thirty years later in Wright's Price Tower in Oklahoma.
1933 - The Malcolm E. Willey House, 255 Bedford Street, Minneapolis MN. Sold to Harvey Glanzer. Sold in 2002 to Steven Sikora and Lynette Erickson-Sikora, who did a restoration. Available for group tours.
1935 - The Edgar J. Kaufmann House, aka Fallingwater, Highway 381, Mill Run PA. Fallingwater is Wright's most famous residence; in fact many believe it is America's most famous residence except for Biltmore in Asheville NC. He designed a guest house in 1938 and an addition to the guest house in 1948. In 1963 Edgar Kaufmann Jr. donated it to the Western Pennsylvania Conservancy who opened it for public tours in 1964.
In 2001, the Conservancy launched an $11.5 million restoration project for major structural repairs; restoration of its wood furniture, steel sash windows, and doors; waterproofing of its flat roofs and terraces; the construction of an on-site zero-discharge waste management system; and an ambitious landscaping plan to improve the visitor experience while protecting the Fallingwater property. The structural repair to Fallingwater's main level was completed in March 2002. Second photo by Christopher Little, others by George Smarttaken in 2007.
1937 - The Paul R. and Jean Hanna House, aka Honeycomb, 737 Frenchman's Road, Stanford CA. Commissioned 1936. After living in the house for 38 years, the Hannas deeded the property to Stanford University in 1975. Damaged by the 1989 Loma Prieta earthquake, it was restored fully in 1999 and is used for private guests and University functions. Tours are available. BW photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1936 - The Abby Beecher Roberts House, aka Deertrack, 695 County Highway 492, Marquette MI. She was the mother-in-law of architect John Lautner, who oversaw the project while working for Wright. Deeded to her granddaughter, Karol Lautner Peterson, who died in 2015.
1937 - The Ben Rebhuhn House, 9A Myrtle, Great Neck Estates NY. The house was damaged by a fire in the 1970s. Restoration work was overseen by Morton Delson. Notable owners of the house included Texas oil heiress Diane Reid. Sold to Terry and Amy Braden.
1937 - The Herbert F. Johnson House, aka Wingspread, 33 East Four Mile Road, Wind Point WI near Racine. Donated by Johnson and his wife to The Johnson Foundation in 1959. Public tours available. Photo by Christopher Gideon.
1938 - The Ralph Jester House, Palos Verdes CA. Unbuilt.
1938 - The Albert R. Blackbourn House, aka the Life Magazine House. Wright's design was featured as one of "Eight Houses for Modern Living," published September 1938. Wright designed them a modern house; Royal Barry Wills designed them a more traditional house. Unbuilt.
1938 - The Charles and Dorothy Manson House, 1224 Highland Park Boulevard, Wausau WI. Sold around 1989 to Donald Aucutt. Sold in 2014 to David Wood.
1938 - The Suntop Homes: 156 Sutton Road, Ardmore PA. Sold to Richard J. Sands.
154 Sutton Road, Ardmore PA. Sold in 1999 to Christian and Christine Busch.
The design was commissioned by Otto Tod Mallery of the Tod Company in 1938 to increase single-family dwelling density in the suburbs. In cooperation with Wright, the Tod Company secured a patent intending to sell development rights for Suntops across the country. The first (and only one) of the four original quadunits planned for Ardmore was built in 1939, with the involvement of Wright's master builder Harold Turner, after initial construction estimates far surpassed the project budget. The design was based upon a series of four individual Usonian dwellings arranged together around a central point, in a pinwheel plan. Wright arranged the four units asymmetrical on the lot so that no unit looked directly at another. The four were eventually merged into two.
1939 - The Lewis N. Bell House, aka Hillcrown, Los Angeles CA. Unbuilt.
1939 - The Andrew F. H. Armstrong House, 43 Cedar Trail, Portage IN near Ogden Dunes. Sold to Patricia Peterson. Photo by Peter Beers.
1939 - The Sidney Bazett House, 101 Reservoir Road, Hillsborough CA. Rented to Joseph Eichler, who was inspired by the design and would go on to fame as a modern homebuilder. Sold in 1945 to Louis and Betty Frank after Eichler moved out. They lived there until 2000. Has been sold. Sold in 2012 to the Frank Laurence Gregory Trust.
1939 - The Joseph Euchtman House, 6807 Cross Country Boulevard, Baltimore MD near Pikesville. Sold in 2014 to Thomas Katana. Photo by Peter Beers.
1939 - The Lloyd Lewis House, 153 Little St. Mary's Road, Libertyville IL. BW photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO; color photo by Thomas Heinz.
1939 - The Rose and Gertrude Pauson House, aka Shiprock, Phoenix AZ. Built for two sisters, it burned in 1942 and the ruins remained for nearly 40 years before being bulldozed for a new 1980 highway. Middle two photos are digital recreations. Bottom photo is of the ruins in 1979, the fireplace and chiimney of which were saved to be an entrance marker for other FLW houses in the area.
1939 - The Stanley and Mildred Rosenbaum House, 601 Riverview Drive, Florence AL. Wright did an addition in 1948. The house was bought from Mildred Rosenbaum by the City of Florence in 1999. Restored in 2002. Available for tours. Color photo by Janet Powell; BW photos by Wayne Andrews/ESTO.
1939 - The Bernard and Fern Schwartz House, aka Still Bend, 3425 Adams Street, Two Rivers WI. Sold in 1971 to second owners. Sold to Gary Ditmer and Michael Ditmer, who have made it available for overnight stay.
1939 - The C. Leigh Stevens House and Plantation, aka Auldbrass, 7 River Road, Yemassee SC. Commissioned 1938. 315 acres. According to South Carolina Plantations, there was a fire which burned some of the outbuildings in 1952. In 1962, Stevens died and he gave Auldbrass to his son and daughter, Jessica Stevens Loring. She bought out her brother's share and moved in in 1971 to began extensive repairs. In 1976, the Lorings had Auldbrass nominated for the National Register of Historic Places. In 1979, due to the constant upkeep of all the buildings and land, the Lorings sold Auldbrass to Boise Cascade, a timber company. Almost immediately the land was sold to Westvaco Corporation. Westvaco sold the buildings and a small parcel of land to a group of local hunters and the property deteriorated. The hunters realized the buildings were not well-suited to hunting and tried to donate them to Clemson University.
The Beaufort County Open Land Trust facilitated a conservation easement and the complex remained in bad shape until 1987 when Hollywood produder Joel Silver bought it. In 1988 he started to restore and finish Auldbrass the way Wright and Stevens planned, consulting with FLW grandson Eric Lloyd Wright.
Auldbrass Plantation is open to the public only two days every two years. Guest houses designed by Wright and adapted by Hilton Head SC architect Tom Crews will be built at some point.
1939 - The George D. and Selma Sturges House,
449 Skyewiay Road, Los Angeles CA. The project architect was John Lautner. Sold in 1951 to Edward Scofield. Sold in 1962 to Elaine Pike. Sold in 1964 to Paul L. and Madeleine
M. Garvin. Sold in 1967 to Jack Larson and Jim Bridges. Sold in 2016 at auction to the All Right Now Foundation. B/W photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO; color photo, middle, by Michael Locke.
The house was owned for decades beginning in 1967 by filmmaker James Bridges (Urban Cowboy, The China Syndrome, The Paper Chase) and Jack Larson (Jimmy Olsen in the 1950s television series Adventures of Superman). The house was put on the auction block on February 21, 2016, with proceeds from the sale benefiting the Bridges/Larson Foundation to be used for charitable, scientific, literary, and educational purposes.
1939 - The Katherine Winckler and Alma Goetsch House, aka the Goetsch-Winkler House, 2410 Hulett Road, Okemos MI. Sold to Daniel and Audrey Seidman. B/W photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO; color photo by E. Thor Carlson.
Around 1939 - The Martin Pence Project, Hilo HI. Unbuilt. Two drawings arrived in 1939, a plot plan showing the siting of house with entry road -- and a floor plan and exterior perspective looking up to the house over the pool. It was basically the Ralph Jester House plan except for the addition of a second bedroom in place of the Jester's outdoor breakfast area and the enlarging of the bathroom. The Pences loved the design, even with the novel circular beds and the compact kitchen. The estimate to build was $18,000.
Based on his income, the Pences calculated that they could not go higher than $12,000. Two months later Wright sent a second plan - a compact, two-story design using hexagonal spaces upon a hexagon module. The Pences didn't like proposal even if it would meet their budget, which was doubtful. Martin Pences regretfully sent Mr. Wright a check for $250, the fee agreed upon, and the project ended. The Pences kept copies of the two house plans. They sold their lot and purchased an existing home two lots west.
1940 - The John C. and Ruth Pew House, aka the Poor Man's Fallingwater, 3650 Lake Mendota Drive, Shorewood Hills WI. Commissioned 1939. Sold in 1983. Sold in 2006 to Eliot Butler, still owner as of 2018. 4th BW photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO; color photos by John Clouse and Jan-Richard Kikkert.
1940 - The Crystal City Project, aka Crystal Heights, Washington DC. Designed for DC's last large undeveloped tract, a 10-acre prarcel in the Temple Heights neighborhood of northwest Washington. The site included the area where the Hilton now sits and extended down Connecticut Avenue to Florida Avenue. Though commonplace now, its mix of commercial uses with residential was unprecedented in 1940. Fourteen closely spaced high rise towers included a 2,500 room hotel, retail space, apartment units, and an 1,100 seat theater. To accommodate cars, Wright tucked a parking structure behind the retail and under a terraced platform. The apartment towers were originally designed for another unbuilt project, St. Mark's Towers in New York City, which were later used in the design of the Price Tower in Oklahoma. Each duplex was identical with 2 upper level bedrooms opening onto the living room with approximately 800 square feet. The zoning board refused to give a variance allowing a commercial-residential mix for a residential zone and though the developer and Wright agreed to reduce the height, it is believed that it may have also been due to a dislike of modern architecture. The project was abandoned.
1940 - The Gregor S. and Elizabeth B. Affleck House, 925 Bloomfield Woods Court, former address 1925 North Woodward Avenue, Bloomfield Hills, MI. In 1980, the Michigan Society of Architects named it one of Michigan's 50 most significant structures. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1998. Sold in 2009 to Lawrence Technological University. Open for tours. Top two B/W photos by Wayne Andrews/ESTO.
1940 - The Theodore Baird House, 38 Shays Street, Amherst MA. Photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO. As of 2012, owned by Jean Hoffman.
1940 - The James B. Christie House, 190 Jockey Hollow Road, Bernardsville NJ. Sold and renovated in 1994, adding a master bedroom suite. Sold in 2009 to Michael P. and Louise A. McNally. Sold in 2015 to Garrett Rittenberg. For sale in 2016, still with the original Wright-designed furniture. For sale in 2019.
1940 - The Clarence Sondern House, aka Sondern-Adler House, 3600 Belleview Avenue, Kansas City MO. Commissioned 1939. Sold in 1948 to Arnold Adler who commissioned Wright for an addition. Sold in 2011 to James L. (Jim) Blair Jr. Sold in 2019 to George Martin. House details.
1940 - The John Booth Nesbitt House, Carmel CA. Unbuilt. Nesbitt had already bought the 1924 Ennis house, so Wright did some renovations to that home instead. The entrance to this house was through a covered gateway, with parking at the side in a four-car carport. A large circular pool stood to the left of the doorway that led into the loggia. The main dining room was at the left of the interior garden, while directly facing out to the sea were long plates of full-length glass set back under a large overhang. On the ground floor were kitchen facilities, storerooms, wine rooms, silver, glass, and china rooms. Access to the main living area was by means of a hanging staircase in the centrally located enclosed garden. This dual living area is called "Great Hall and Sea Lounge."
1940 - The Franklin Watkins Studio-Residence, Barnegat NJ. Watkins was a successful American painter. The studio-residence that Wright designed was in the dunes overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. The lower level contains a covered carport to protect the vehicles against salt spray. Also on this level is a small kitchen and dining area, as well as a bedroom and bath. A stairwell at the entry connects to the upper level, which is given over entirely to the studio with it tall windows, protective overhang, and balconies. Unbuilt.
1941 - The Arch and Eleanor Oboler Complex, aka Eaglefeather, 32436 West Mulholland, Malibu CA. Included several buildings. Commissioned 1940. The original design was perfect for a creative writer who also wanted to entertain. In the original plan, top photo, at the entrance level is a swimming pool with dressing-room facilities. Tucked into the core of the main masonry mass that rises and supports the house is a room called Secret Retreat, where Oboler could lock himself in and write. Above, a large living space allows each room to have access to a balcony terrace; and open well borders the stairway with a top light above it. Desert masonry, composed of rocks placed in wooden forms and held in place with poured concrete, is the main stabilizing material for the house.
But this plan was not built. While preparing to build Eaglefeather Oboler decided first to build something smaller on that same property. He got Wright to design the gatehouse and retreat described above the year after Eaglefeather working drawings were finished. Both of those were built and the couple took up residence in them, with additions and extensions of the gatehouse until it became in its own right a major building. Eaglefeather was indefinitely postponed, the victim of delays and procrastination, until it was clear that Oboler had lost interest in it. In 1955, the couple had Wright design another small house on the 120-acre property, where they lived until Arch Oboler's death in 1987. The land was sold and sub-divided shortly after.
1941 - The Loren and Charlotte Pope House, aka the Pope-Leighey House, 1005 Locust Street, Falls Church VA. Commissioned 1939. Pope and his family lived there until 1946. Sold to Robert and Marjorie Leighey in 1946. In 1961, it was condemned to make way for Interstate 66. Marjorie Leighey donated the home to the National Trust for Historic Preservation in 1964, along with $31,500 to help pay for the relocation. The home was dismantled, moved, and reconstructed on the property of Woodlawn Plantation, 9000 Richmond Highway, Alexandria VA, where it opened to the public in 1965. In 1995, the house was again relocated 30 feet to its present location. Guided tours daily.
1941 - The Roy Peterson House, Racine WI. Unbuilt.
1941 - The Carlton (Carl) D. Wall House, aka Snowflake, 12305 Beck Road, Plymouth Township MI. In 1947, they added a 1000 sf bedroom wing. Share a lot with the 1953 Lewis Goddard House. Sold in 1983 to Tom Monaghan, founder of Domino's Pizza and used on a rotating basis by his executives. Monaghan at one time had one of the largest collections of FLW furniture. Sold to David and Karen Ohryn.
1942 - Cloverleaf Quadruple Housing, Pittsfield MA. Unbuilt. Designed for the US Defense Housing Program on a 100-acre tract. Wright had built a quadruple housing scheme, Sun Top Homes, for Otto Mallery near Philadelphia. There were to be 25 Fourplex houses, home to 100 families. In order to meet the program's strict cost limit of $3,500 per dwelling unit ($14,000 per fourplex), the houses were planned to be made from standardized precast concrete elements. Each quadrant also incorporated a 16' x 36' courtyard along cross walls improving lighting and venting.
According to Wright, "A long distance call from housing administrator Clark Foreman in Washington, said, "I don't see your name anywhere on our roster. Why don't you contribute something?" I said I would. Finally, 100 houses in Pittsfield, MA were told off to me and after I visited the site, I went to work. When the plans were nearly finished, a telegram came telling me to stop. It seems Mr. Foreman had been superseded by another. But since the project was nearly completed, I was authorized to finish it. Sometime later word reached me that the local architects of Massachusetts had taken the matter up with their Congressman and that only local architects as provided for in a statute covering the matter would be allowed to handle the project. Although the government offered to buy what I had done, I declined to sell it because I would have no positive control over execution..."
1942 - Cooperative Farmsteads, Detroit MI. A group of auto workers, teachers, and other professionals in Detroit formed in the late thirties a cooperative organization for the purpose of buying land in the country and starting construction on a group of moderately priced houses. Eventually, they purchased a 160-acre farm and the group approached Wright who was interested in experimenting with rammed earth construction and this seemed like a good place to start. After earth walls were formed and a protective roof covering was begun, the Second World War intervened. Many of the home owners were drafted and the project stopped.
1942 - The Lloyd Burlingham House, aka Pottery House, El Paso TX. Wright's only adobe design. Unbuilt.
1944 - The Herbert I. Jacobs House II, aka the Solar Hemicycle House, 3992 Shawn Trail, Middleton WI. Sold in 1968 to William Taylor who rented it out to students through 1981. Deeded to Taylor's son, Bill, who did an extensive renovation with builder John Freiburger. Sold to John and Elizabeth Moore. Top photo by Middleton Bernard Pyron; bottom photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1944 - The Gerald M. Loeb House, aka Tenaya, Lonetown Road, Redding CT. Unbuilt. Loeb was the founding partner of EF Hutton. Mrs. Loeb was against the house in the beginning since they had already spent a fortune remodelling a barn. Gerald Loeb also made the error of using a local contractor for a construction estimate. Wright was unhappy as that contractor, like most, had no experience in modern. After five or six years of decision delays and Wright never getting paid his full fee, the project was scrapped. Wright and Loeb managed to remain friends. Photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1946 - The Amy Alpaugh Studio/Residence, 71 East Peterson Park Road, Northport MI. Sold in 2007 to Olana Farms LLC/Peter Jorgenson. There has been a playroom addition; porch conversion to dining room, and greenhouse conversion to bedroom.
1946 - The Douglas Grant House, 3400 Adel Drive SE, Cedar Rapids IA. The home is at the top of a ridge, so while it appears to be one story, only the top floor is visible from the certain vantage points. The lower level contains the living room, dining room, kitchen, and utilities area. The upper level contains 4 bedrooms. Deeded in 2004 to daughter Donna Grant Reilly.
1954 - The Chauncey Griggs House, 6816 79th Street West, Lakewood WA. Commissioned in 1946, there were years of building delays. Architect Alan Liddle revised the final plans. Deeded to his son, Mark, and wife Phyllis. Designated a City of Lakewood historic landmark in 2003.
1945 - The V. C. Morris House, aka Sea Cliff, San Francisco CA. Unbuilt. Located in the Sea Cliff area near the Golden Gate Bridge. Building of the Morris' Gift Shop on Maiden Lane, also by Wright, that caused constant delays. There was a second scheme done by Wright in 1955, rejected by the clients and also unbuilt. Ten years later they asked Wright to design a guest house on the same site. According to Frank Lloyd Wright: Principles and Form by Paul Laseau, this was also unbuilt.
1946 - The Alvin L. Miller House, 1107 Court Street, Charles City IA. Sold to Bruce Dietrich. Dick Young built an addition from plans originally drawn by Wright that the Millers never built. Flooded in 2008. Sold in 2011 to Paul and Jeannette Griffin. Undergoing renovation as of 2012, again by Dick Young.
1947 - The A. H. Bulbulian House, 1229 Skyline Drive, Rochester MN. Sold in 2005 to Rachel S. Bulbulian. An article in Rochester Magazine says Blue Planet Museum Consulting did an extensive remodel over a seven year period.
1947 - The Vincent J. Scully Jr. House, New Haven CT. Unbuilt. Wright's plan was too expensive, so he paid Wright's fee then designed his own glass-walled house in the woods.
1947 - The Paul V. Palmer House, Camelback Road, Phoenix AZ. Unbuilt. Based on the Ralph Jester house of five years earlier. The materials were to becement plaster and cut stone. The entire house was to be set upon an earth platform. The Palmers asked for many substantial changes, and the project was abandoned altogether when it became obvious that no mutual agreement was possible between architect and client.
1947 - The Alfred Bergman House, on the ocean at St. Petersburg FL. Unbuilt. This house developed out of a scheme designed first for Florida Southern College president Ludd M. Spivey.
1947 - The E. L. and Joyce Marting House, Northampton OH. Unbuilt. Earth bermed up on the north, the cold side of the house, keeps the interior warm in winter and cool in summer. Although the house was never built, due to rising costs and an imminent divorce, Wright continued to use the hemicycle in several other house projects. Interview with Joyce Marting.
1947 - The Ayn Rand Studio and Residence. Unbuilt. Author Rand and Wright met briefly in Hollywood in 1943 as she was preparing to film The Fountainhead via introduction by Wright's granddaughter, actress Anne Baxter. In 1946 Rand contacted Wright about a house design and in 1947 she met Wright at Taliesin. The project was scrapped, as she chose to live in New York City to be near literary friends and colleagues.
1947 - The Huntington Hartford House, Hollywood, CA. Unbuilt. The design was originally for an earlier client, Ralph Jester, also unbuilt. The living room is a complete sphere. The design was finally built in 1974, see below, without the sphere.
Around 1947 - The Vincent Scully House, Woodbridge CT. Unbuilt. A compact octagon above with large living and dining space, a terrace, and bedrooms wrapping around the living space. A complete set of working drawings was finished but it was too expensive for the client to build.
1947 - The Arthur O'Keeffe House, Santa Barbara CA. Unbuilt.
1948 - The Albert Adelman House, 7111 North Barnett, Milwaukee WI. Sold to Bertram Karpf. Sold in 1996 to Michael and Anna Brennan. Sold in 2002 to First American Title. Sold in 2004 to Eugene Cox. Sold in 2018 to Craig Adelman. B/W photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1948 - The Carroll Alsop House, aka the Mitchell House, 1907 A Avenue East, Oskaloosa IA. Sold by auction in 2021 to Mia Reed.
1948 - The Erling P. Brauner House, 2527 Arrowhead Road, Okemos MI. Sold in 1992 to James Gibbs. Top photo by James McNally; rest by Peter Forguson.
1948 - The Samuel and Dorothy Eppstein House, 11098 Hawthorne Drive, Galesburg MI. Part of the Galesburg County Homes Development, aka The Acres. Sold in 2016 to Marika Broere and Tony Hillebrandt. Available in 2018 for rent. Top three photos by James McNally and Jim Steinhart.
1948 - The Sol Friedman House, aka Toyhill, Usonia II, 11 Orchard Brook Drive, Pleasantville NY. Sold to Jon F. Smith Jr. Sold in 2018 to Brian Renz. B/W photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO.
1948 - The J. Willis Hughes House, aka Fountainhead, 306 Glen Way, Jackson MS. Sold in 1980 to architect Robert P. Adams who did a renovation. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Top photo by Natalie Maynor.
1948 - The Herman T. Mossberg House, 1404 Ridgedale Road, South Bend IN. Sold to 2012 by James Hillman, Herman Mossberg's grandson, and his wife Jill. B/W photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO; fourth photo by Peter Beers; bottom two photos by John Clouse.
1948 - The Jack and Alice Lamberson House, aka the Robert McCormick House, aka the Peter Maunu House, 511 North Park Avenue, Oskaloosa IA.
1948 - The Robert Levin House, 2816 Taliesin Drive, Kalamazoo MI. Owned as of 2012 by Richard and Patricia Williams. Photo by R. McNees.
1948 - The Arnold Friedman Lodge, aka Fir Tree, 1009 Highway 63, Pecos NM. Commissioned 1945. A carport was added later, and after that, a swimming pool (not by Wright). As of 2016, still owned by Friedman heirs.
1948 - The Curtis Meyer House, 11108 Hawthorne Drive, Galesburg MI. Part of the Galesburg County Homes Development, now called The Acres. Sold to Douglas N. Labrecque c/o Airway Lanes.
1948 - The Eric and Pat Pratt House, 11036 Hawthorne Drive, Galesburg MI. Part of the Galesburg County Homes Development, now called The Acres. Sold in 2006. Photo by James McNally.
1948 - The David I. and Christine Weisblatt House, 11185 Hawthorne Drive, Galesburg MI. Part of the Galesburg County Homes Development, now called The Acres. Sold in 2017 to the Weisblatt House LLC. Bottom two photos by John Clouse.
1948 - The Della Brooks Walker House, aka the Mrs. Clinton Walker House, 26336 Scenic Road at Martin Street, Carmel CA. In 1945, she wrote to Wright asking for a house on land she owned overlooking the Pacific in Carmel. Addition in 1956. Deeded to grandson Wellington S. Henderson Jr, son of Mrs. Walker's daughter. Interiors were featured in the 1959 movie A Summer Place. Top photo by Julius Shulman; interior photos by Raymond Neutra.
1948 - The Iovanna Lloyd Wright Sun Cottage, aka Sun Trap, Taliesin West, Scottsdale AZ. This is a free-standing structure located east of the main complex. It initially served as early living space for the Wrights and was expanded in 1948. In 1962 it was enclosed as a studio for apprentices. Bottom photo by Michael Stevens.
1949 - The Melvyn Maxwell (Smithy) Smith and Sarah Smith House, 5045 Ponvalley Road, Bloomfield Township MI. Commissioned 1946. Deeded to Anne Smith. Sold to the Towbes Foundation. Listed on the National Register in 1997. Donated in 2017 to Cranbrook. Open for tours. Photo by Peter Beers; B/W photo by Donald Kalec.
1949 - The Goetsch-Winckler House #2, Okemos MI. Unbuilt. These clients wanted a larger home and the budget this time was considerably larger, so was the projected cost, which the client could not afford.
1949 - The Charles Weltzheimer House, aka the Weltzheimer/Johnson House, 127 Woodhaven Place, Oberlin OH. Commissioned 1947. The Weltzheimer family lived in the house until 1963 when the property was sold to developers and "remodeling" efforts scarred the space. However, in 1968, Art History Professor Ellen H. Johnson purchased it and began restoration. In 1992 at her death, the house was given to Oberlin College to serve as a guesthouse for the Art Department and the Allen Memorial Art Museum. As of 2012, open to the public for tours. Top photo by John McNally.
1949 - The Maynard P. and Katie Buehler House, 6 Great Oak Circle, Orinda CA. Commissioned 1948. The grounds were designed by Henry Matsutani, who also designed the Japanese Gardens in San Francisco's Golden Gate Park. Seriously damaged by fire in 1994 and rebuilt by Alward Construction with the guidance of the original Clerk of the Works, Walter Olds, who Wright assigned to the project in 1948. The house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006. As of 2011, owned by Robert Rey, Trustee. Sold in December 2013 to Gerald Shmavonian.
1949 - The Howard E. Anthony House, 1150 Miami Road, Benton Harbor MI. Photo by Peter Beers; BW photo by Ezra Stoller; color photos by John Clouse.
1949 - The Eric V. Brown House, 2806 Taliesin Drive, Kalamazoo MI. Sold to Peter and Janet Copeland. Top photo by Jim Steinhart; last two photos by John Clouse.
1949 - The James and Dolores Edwards House, 2504 Arrowhead Road, Okemos MI. Built of brick and cypress with brick floors. A second wing was added in 1968 along with a studio and a garage by Taliesin Associated Architects for owner F. Jerome Corr. The exterior woodwork was refinished in 1972 by William T. Martin III. Owned as of 2012 by trustees for Mary Ann Martin. Bottom photo by E. Thor Carlson.
1949 - The Ward and Helen McCartney House, 2662 Taliesin Drive, Kalamazoo MI. Sold in 2004 to Mark Spaulding. Sold in 2012 to John Meyers. Sold to Lucas Korth-Mcdonnell. Photo by John Meyers.
1949 - The Henry J. and Frieda Neils House, 2801 Burnham Boulevard, Minneapolis MN. Henry Neils was a stone and architectectural materials distributor and was closely involved with the project. Sold to Mary McGee Trust. Sold in 2007 to Noa Starky. For sale in 2018-2020.
1949 - The Senator George Griswold House, Greenwich CT. Unbuilt.
1949 - The Robert F. and Anne Windfohr House, aka Crownfield, Fort Worth TX. Unbuilt. Poured concrete house focused around a large circular living room. Out from this circle, which contained separate inner circles for fireplace gatherings, music, and dancing, were the other two major wings, one with a formal dining room with its own conservatory, breakfast rooms, and cardrooms for games; the other was bedrooms. One of the reasons it was not completed was Wright's refusal to put in air conditioning.
Three years later the plan was redeveloped for Mexican Cabinet Minister Raul Bailleres, see below. Later, it was redeveloped for Arthur Miller and Marilyn Monroe, which again failed again to break ground.
1950 - The Robert and Gloria Berger House, 259 Redwood Road, San Anselmo CA. Built by the owner over a period of years. One son wrote to Wright and asked him to design a doghouse, which Wright did at no cost. Wright also designed furniture for the house. Sold in 2013 to James V. Rega. Photos 2, 3, 4 by Jean Von Trende.
1950 - The Raymond and Helen Carlson House, 1123 West Palo Verde Drive, Phoenix AZ. Deeded around 1970 to Lance Carlson (no relation) who enclosed the carport. Sold in 1985 to Christian Petersen. Sold in 2003 to George Shepard III and Jeffrey Eldot.
1950 - The Lowell E. and Agnes Walter House, aka Cedar Rock, 2611 Quasqueton Diagonal Boulevard, Independence IA. Commissioned 1945. Wright chose or designed nearly everything, including the furniture, carpets, draperies, and accessories. When Walter died in August of 1981, he and his wife, Agnes, left Cedar Rock to the Iowa Conservation Commission. Available for public tours. B/W photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1950 - The Richard and Elaine Davis House, aka Woodside, 1119 West Overlook Road, Marion IN. Davis' second wife, Madelyn Pugh Davis, was co- writer of I Love Lucy. She lived there until they moved to California in 1966. Sold to Matt and Mirka Harris.
1950 - The R. Bradford and Ina Harper House, 207 Sunnybank Street, St. Joseph MI. Address changed to 2571 Old Lakeshore Drive. Middle photo by Ezra Stoller; bottom photo by R. McNees. Sold in 1996 to Gina Flamm. For sale in 2021.
1950 - The John and Dorothy Haynes House, 3901 North Washington Road, Fort Wayne IN. Sold in 1959. Sold in 1970. Sold around 1974 to architect John Shoaff. Sold to 2000 to Frank and Patte Owings. Sold in 2004 to Richard J. Herber who with his father Heinrich did a faithful restoration. In 2008, the Fort Wayne Historic Preservation Review Board created a local historic district, just for the house, at Herber's request. In 2016, fearing an inability to sell it, Herber requested the house be removed from the historic district. He was denied, twice, and filed suit in August 2016.
1950 - The Thomas E. Keys House, 1217 Skyline Drive, Rochester MN. Sold to Dietlind and Senz Wahner.
1950 - The Arthur C. Mathews House, 83 Wisteria Way, Atherton CA. Sold around 1970 to Harold Sox Sr. Sold to the Betty Sox and John Badenhop III Trust. For sale in 2022. Photo by Martina Glenn.
1950 - The Wilbur C. Pearce House, 5 Bradbury Hills Road, Bradbury CA. Sold to Konrad Pearce.
1950 - The Donald (Don) A. and Mary Lou Schaberg House, 1155 Wrightwind Drive, Okemos MI. This five-bedroom, four-bath, 3,800-square-foot home had an 1964 addition designed by Wright's apprentice, John Howe. Auctioned in 2005. Sold in 2008 to James Schultz and Lela Ivey. Has been remodeled, bottom two photos by Christopher Schaberg, grandson of the original owners.
1950 - The Richard C. and Berenice Smith House, 332 East Linden Drive, Jefferson WI. Sold in 1994 to Kathy J. Kowalke.
1950 - The Karl A. Staley House, 6363 Lake Road, Madison OH. Sold to John and Susan Turben. Deeded to Susan Turben.
1950 - The J. A. Sweeton House, 373 Kings Highway N, Cherry Hill NJ. Sold to Albert Clark. Sold in 2008 to Christine Denario and architect Daniel Nichols, who provided the bottom two photos which feature the restored roll and batten roof.
1950 - The Robert D. Winn House, 2822 Taliesin Drive, Kalamazoo MI. Sold to Larry and Bonnie Rupert. Sold in 2017 to John and Catherine Berno.
1950 - The Isadore J. and Lucille Zimmerman House, 223 Heather Street, Manchester NH. 1600 sf. When the Zimmerman's passed away in the 1980s, the Currier Gallery of Art took possession. Open to the public for tours.
1951 - The Benjamin Adelman House, 5802 North 30th Street, Phoenix AZ. Initially 700sf plus a 500sf guest house. Constructed from a design Wright had done in the 1940s. Built by a crew of Native Americans. In the 1980s, it was refurbished and expanded by architect Fred Bloch. Sold to Bertram Karpf. Sold in 1996 to Michael and Anna Brennan. Sold in 2004 to Eugene Cox. Now 3365 sf.
1951 - The David L. and Gladys Wright Sr. House, aka Taj Mahal, 5212 East Exeter Boulevard, Phoenix AZ. David Lloyd Wright was FLW's son. Commissioned 1950. FLW did a 350sf guest house in 1954. Another FLW son, Lloyd Wright, designed a guest house in 1965 that was unbuilt. The Wrights continued to live in their home until David died in 1997 at the age of 102 and Gladys died in 2008 at the age of 104. They both outlived their only son, David Lloyd Wright Jr.
In 2009, their three granddaughters sold the house for $2.8 million to JT Morning Glory Enterprises LP, who intended to renovate and keep the house. The group's members included Jean Tichenor, Spencer Russell and Carolyn Russell who sold in early 2012 to developers 8081 Meridian Corporation, owned by Steve Sells and John Hoffman. While publicly promising the house would be preserved, Sells and Hoffman attained a demolition permit. The City of Phoenix revoked the demolition permit and considered landmark designation.
Sold in October 2012 to Zachary (Zach) Rawling, aka David Wright House LLC, who worked to preserve the house as a cultural center via a new underground museum designed by former Wright student Wallace Cunningham. Neighbors lawyered up and killed the idea on exaggerated concerns of overcrowding and noise. Sold in 2020 to Benson Botsford LLC (Bing Hu and businessman Jim Benson).
1951 - The Edward Serlin House, aka Usonia, 12 Laurel Hill Drive, Pleasantville NY. Commissioned 1949. Sold to Lincoln Brigg and Doris Abramson. Sold in 1993 to Michael Pinkus and Julie Wisker.
1951 - The A. K. Chahroudi Summer Cottage, aka the Massaro House, 1 Petra Island, Lake Mahopac, Carmel NY. Wright designed a 1200 sf cottage which is still on the island, bottom photo. He also designed a larger house which was unbuilt for over 40 years.
In 1991, the property was sold to Joseph Massaro. Massaro got the original plans from Chahroudi's son. After rejecting Taliesin Architects because their fees were too high, Massaro hired Thomas A. Heinz, an architect and Wright historian, to complete the unfinished design, built between 2003 and 2007.
Occasionally open for tours by nonprofit groups. Taliesin Architects does not certify this as a Wright house but like all post-1959 projects that's up for debate. For sale on and off since 2010.
1951 - The Welbie L. Fuller House, 317 Sandy Hook Drive, Pass Christian MS. Destroyed by Hurricane Camille in August 1969. Bottom photo by Phillip Roach.
1951 - The Charles F. Glore House, 170 North Mayflower Road, Lake Forest IL. 2 acres, originally. The house fell into severe disrepair by the 1970s and was vacant by the 1980s. It was in danger of being demolished, and the two acre parcel was subdivided and the new owners did a renovation. The outside terrace, built in 1987, realizes the original which was not built. Sold in 1999 to Richard and Beth Katz. Sold in 2007 Megan Hauswirth Beidler and her husband Frank Beidler IV. Sold in 2020.
1951 - The Russell W. and Ruth G. Kraus House, 120 North Ballas Road, Kirkwood MO. Ruth Kraus died in 1992, and Russell Kraus spent several years searching for a caretaker for the house. In 2001 he sold the house to a non-profit organization, The Frank Lloyd Wright House in Ebsworth Park. They turned over the title of the property to the St. Louis County Department of Parks and Recreation but continue to preserve it and open it to the public.
1951 - The Stuart Richardson House, 63 Chestnut Hill Place, Glen Ridge NJ. Commissioned 1941. Composed entirely of hexagons. Sold in 1970 to a new owner. Restored 2006. As of 2009, owned by Edith Payne. Sold in 2016 to Pamela Inbasekaren and D. Mauter. For sale in 2019.
1951 - The Nathan Rubin House, 518 44th Street NW, Canton OH. Rubinand his wife fell in love with an earlier Wright home, the Weltzheimer house, and commissioned Wright to design one for them. Built in 1951, Wright originally designed it for a group of Usonian homes in Okemos, MI. Best seen from Frazer Avenue. Deeded to son Robert Rubin and his wife Joanne.
1951 - The JJ Vallarino House I, Panama City FL. Unsure if built.
1952 - The John O. Carr House, 1544 Portage Run, Glenview IL. Commissioned 1950. 1900 sf. 3 acres, with another 3 acre parcel adjacent. Sold in 1966 to architect Edward S. Busche. Busche added on 2000sf in 1982. The completed addition appeared in a 1982 issue of House Beautiful magazine, shown above. Deeded to wife Carol Ann Busche.
1952 - The Roland and Ronny Reisley House, aka Usonia, 44 Usonia Road, Pleasantville NY. The original house had one bedroom, a study, and kitchen with a total of 1,800 square feet. Wright returned five years later to design a 1,400 square foot addition. Commissioned 1951. As of 2019, occupied by the original owners. Interview.
1952 - The Quentin Blair House, 5588 Greybull Highway, Cody WY. 40 acres. Bruce Goff designed the two-car garage. The house has been since modified and somewhat enlarged in consultation from Taliesin Architects. It is the only Wright house in Wyoming. The home was featured on the cover of Household Magazine, June 1956, photo above.
1952 - The Ray and Mimi Brandes House, 2202 212th Avenue SE, Sammamish WA. 2300sf. Wright designed the built-ins as well as the free-standing furniture, which was handcrafted by Ray Brandes of redwood lumber and plywood. 20 acres. Sold to Brandes' son, Jack Cullen and Deborah L. Vick. Sold in 2008 to Ko Land Limited Partnership (Daniel Sheehan). Sold in 2013 to Marsha and John Shyer.
1952 - The Seamour and Gerte Shavin House, 334 North Crest Road, Chattanooga TN. Commissioned 1949. The Shavins grew up just below the bluff on which the house sits. This house is one of the few that Wright designed to sit on top of a hill, and it offers spectacular views. After saving up to design a house, the Shavins hired Wright and got of his late Usonians. The furniture includes a dining room suite made from the cypress. In the late 1980s they completed a painstaking rejuvenation of the cypress eaves and a new roof. Top photo by James McNally; other photos (taken 1989) from Jack Logan.
1952 - The George and Clifton V. Lewis House, aka Spring House, aka Spring Hill, 3117 Okeeheepkee Road, Tallahassee FL. The only house designed by Wright in Florida. Deeded to wife Clifton V. Lewis. Endangered and deteriorating as of 2015. Interview. Tours available, donations accepted.
1952 - The R. W. Lindholm House, aka Mantyla, 3201 Route 33, Cloquet MN. Wright also did a gas station for Lindholm, middle photo. House was disassembled and moved in 2018 to Polymath Park in Acme PA where was re-built, bottom photo.
1952 - The Arthur Pieper House, 6440 East Cheney Drive, Paradise Valley AZ. Pieper was a student at Taliesin. With the help of Taliesin fellow Charles Montooth, Pieper built the house himself. The two men formed Horizon Builders to fabricatethe blocks for Wright's concrete houses. The design wasa lower cost home with a smaller floor plan. When their business did not catch on, Pieper moved east and Montooth joined Taliesin Associated Architects. In 1997, an addition 3-4 times the size of the original home was added, leaving the original portion as a mere wing to the back. The original at that time was clad with Dryvit, an insulation material, to match the new addition. Sold to Nancy Tower Broderick. Sold in 2009 to Philip Cascio Jr.
1952 - The Frank S. Sander House, aka Springbough, 121 Woodchuck Road, Stamford CT. 2.3 acres. Top photo is before a 2000 renovation, bottom after renovation. 2200 sf. Built into the side of a rocky ledge. Bought in 1996 by Anne Del Gaudi who replaced the cantilevered deck in 2000 with one that would allow her to view the surrounding trees from a seated position, along with a screened in porch. Del Gaudi sold in 2004 to Erik Gavrilik, who demolished the 'new' deck and replaced it in 2006 with a porch like the original FLW version.
1952 - The Raul Bailleres House, Acapulco, Mexico. Unbuilt. Bailleres invited Wright to Mexico and Wright chose to re-work the unbuilt Windfohr house for the Mexican coastline. Fireplaces in the earlier house were converted to indoor fountains for this tropical region so perfectly suited to the sound of gently cascading jets of water. The death of the client's young son cancelled the project.
1952 - The Point View Residences, Pittsburgh PA. Unbuilt. Wright client Kaufmann, of Fallingwater fame, asked Wright to design an apartment building. Wright reworked the 1929 Elizabeth Noble Apartments to a larger scale. The units were designed for seniors but the site was isolated from shopping and support buildings. Kaufmann was advised by developers to abandon the project.
1953 - The Jorgine Boomer Cottage, aka Mountain Cottage, 5808 North 30th Street, Phoenix AZ. 1413 square feet. She and husband Lucius planned to have Wright rebuild the Pauson residence in 1945. But when her husband passed away unexpectedly in a plane wreck, she had the smaller home built. Jorgine Boomer lived in the house only a few years before donating it to the Phoenix Art Museum. Unable to maintain it or use it for museum functions, partly because of zoning restrictions and partly due to location, the museum sold it in 1963. Deeded to that owner's nephew, the Bruce Gilleland Residence Trust.
1953 - The Patrick and Margaret Kinney House, 424 North Fillmore Street, Lancaster WI. Commissioned 1951. To help keep the costs down, Patrick Kinney was the general contractor. The Kinneys raised three children there, and in 1964, Taliesin fellow John H. Howe designed a detached northeast wing to accommodate the growing family. Patrick Kinney died there in 2004. Margaret Kinney continued to live in the home part of the year until her death in 2011. Deeded to Anne and Jane Kinney. Second photo by Peter Beers; photos 3 and 4 by T. Heggland; bottom two photos by John Clouse.
1953 - The Lewis H. Goddard House, 12221 Beck Road, Plymouth MI. BW photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO. Currently owned by Karen and David Ohryn, owners of the 1941 Carlton (Carl) Wall House, aka Snowlake House, that shares the same lot. Karen Ohyrn's parents, Jack and Carmen Cook, lived in the house, until their deaths in 2015 and 2017.
1953 - The Louis A. Penfield House, 2203 River Road, Willoughby Hills OH. Includes a radiant heat system in the floor. Tinted with Colorundum, a process that colors the cement while its still wet, the floor will never need painting. Deeded to son Paul Penfield. Available for overnight stay but not for tours. Sold for the first time outside the family in 2018.
At one time, a second home, aka Riverrock, by Wright was designed for the Penfields because a freeway was scheduled to demolish their home. The freeway never happened, and the plans are still available as of 2017 from Paul Penfield.
1953 - The Harold C. Price Jr. House, aka Hillside, aka Star View Farm, 2800 Silver Lake Road, Bartlesville OK. Built for the son of Harold Price, one of Wright's corporate clients. Addition built in the 1960s, designed by William Wesley Peters of Taliesin Associated Architects (see octagonal roof in aerial photo). Sold to Bradley Thomas Lenhart Jr. Sold and renovated in 1994, adding a master bedroom suite. Sold in 2009 to Michael P. and Louise A. McNally. Sold in 2015 to Garrett Rittenberg. For sale in 2016, still with the original Wright- designed furniture.
1953 - The Usonian Exhibition House and Pavilion for the "Sixty Years of Living Architecture" in New York NY. Built on the grounds of what would become the Guggenheim Museum. There were two structures, the New York Usonian Exhibition House and the Pavilion, built at the same time. The dining room furniture were designed and built specifically for the Exhibition House. After the exhibition, the house was auctioned to David Henken. He contracted polio and the house was put into storage for 30 years. In 1984, it was auctioned again. Tom Monaghan of Domino's Pizza won, paying $117,000. Henken, hired to rebuild the house, died, and by that point the materials had deteriorated (and many were missing). Monaghan donated the house to the Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, which determined that the house could not be restored and opted to auction it once more, for parts, in 1992. BW photos by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1953 - The Robert Llewellyn Wright and Elizabeth (Betty) Kehler Wright House, 7927 Deepwell Drive, Bethesda MD. Designed for Wright's sixth and youngest child. The grounds were landscaped by Lloyd Wright, another son, in 1960. Deeded in 2001 to son Thomas Llewellyn Wright. Bottom two photos by Jan-Richard Kikkert.
1954 - The E. Clarke and Julia Arnold House, 954 Dix Street, Columbus WI. All of the angles are either 60 degrees or 120 degrees forming equilateral parallelogram modules having 4' long sides. Wright approved a bedroom wing addition in 1959 and the plans were in preparation when he died in April that year. His apprentice John Howe drafted a second design which established the final Y-shaped plan. Sold to Henry St. Maurice.
1954 - The Gibbons Gray Cornwall House, West Goshen PA. Unbuilt. Built for the Sims in 1995 in Hawaii, see below.
1954 - The Abraham Wilson and Gloria Bachman House, aka the Wilson House, aka the Bachman-Wilson House, originally at 1423 Millstone River Road, Hillsborough NJ. Abraham's brother Marvin was an apprentice for Wright at Taliesin West. Sold in the early 1960s. Sold again to a Rutgers professor. Sold in 1988 to Sharon Tarantino of Tarantino Architects. She and her husband Lawrence completed a full restoration, including the furniture, and planned to add a guest house and pool. Hurricane Floyd ruined the kitchen in 1999, and there were frequent floods, including six feet during Hurridcan Irene in 2011. Moving it became essential. Deeded in 2007 to 21 Forest Crossing LLC, controlled by the Tarantinos. At one point the house was to be moved to 21 Forest Crossing, Sagaponack NY. Alice Walton of Walmart took interest and bought it for her Crystal Bridges art complex in Bentonville AR. Disassembled in 2014; reassembled in 2015. Open to the public.
1954 - The John E. Christian House, aka Samara, 1301 Woodland Avenue, West Lafayette IN. 2200 sf. Deeded to daughter Linda Christian Davis, who lives in Houston. Tours available by reservation. BW photo by Susan Carr/ESTO.
1954 - The Ellis Feiman House, 452 Santa Clara Street NW, Canton OH. Photo by Anthony McCune. By 2008, the house had badly deteriorated, including water damage. Owned by Richard and Linda Barber. As of late 2010, undergoing repairs.
1954 - The Gabrielle and Charlsey Austin House, aka Broad Margin, 9 West Avondale, Greenville SC. Commissioned 1951. Built for two sisters. Named by Wright after a line in "Maiden" by Henry Thoreau "I love a broad margin in my life." Two acres. 1900 sf. The only alteration was a portion of the kitchen cabinets that was replaced after a fire. As of 1978, the owners were Roy and Caryl Palmer. Added in 1978 to the National Register. Sold in 1997 to Frederick Bristol Jr./Broad Margin LLC.
1954 - The John J. and Syd Dobkins House, 5120 Plain Center Avenue, Canton OH. Commissioned 1953. About 2,000 square feet. Sold in 1997 to Daniel and Diane Chrzanowski after the death of the original owner. It took 14 years to complete a renovation. Photos by Scott Boultman and Adrienne Derosa.
1954 - The Maurice Greenberg House, 3902 Highway 67, Dousman WI. Very close in concept to Fallingwater. Greenberg passed away in 2004 and his wife sold the house the following year to Maile and David Riedel, who at the time planned to build a bedroom wing addition.
1954 - The Isaac N. and Bernadine Hagan House, aka Kentuck Knob, 723 Kentuck Road, Chalkhill PA. The Hagans were the owners of Hagan Ice Cream Company in Uniontown, PA and were good friends of the Kaufmanns who owned "Fallingwater" up the road in Mill Run PA. The drawings were not designed by Wright himself, but by his chief draftsman, John Howe. The hexagonal structure is crafted entirely of tidewater red cypress and native fieldstone with a copper roof. The Hagans added flower and sculpture gardens and over 10,000 trees to the 80 acre property. Sold in 1986, 30 years after the Hagans moved in, to Lord Peter Palumbo of Great Britain, who still uses it as a vacation home. Open for tours. Bottom photo by Monica Jackson.
1954 - The Willard H. and Karen Johnson Keland House, 1425 Valley View Drive, Racine WI. Designed for the daughter of Herbert Johnson Jr. of SC Johnson Wax, Karen, and first husband Willard Keland. She grew up in another FLW home, Wingspread (1937), and had always wanted a FLW house of her own. According to Mark Hertzberg's book Wright in Racine, Wright wanted to include a cantilever like Karen's bedroom at Wingspread, but it was eliminated for budgetary reasons, much to her regret. Addition of playroom and patio by Wright draftsman John H. Howe in 1961. Deeded upon their divorce to Karen Johnson, later Boyd. Top aerial photo by Mark Hertzberg.
1954 - The Harold Price House, aka the Grandma House, 7211 North Tatum Boulevard, Paradise Valley AZ. The roof is lifted off the walls by 2" steel pipes and appears to float. Sold in 1992 to Americo Real Estate Company. In excellent condition.
1954 - The William Thaxton House, 12020 Tall Oaks Street, Houston TX. The house was 1200 sf and was in major disrepairfacing demolition when Alan and Betty Gaw purchased it in 1991. They added a 9100 sf structure around the original house designed by architect Bob Inaba of Kirksey-Meyers including another kitchen, living room, and bedrooms. Still owned by the Gaws as of 2015 when it was for sale. For sale in 2019.
1954 - The Gerald B. and Beverly Tonkens House, 6980 Knoll Road, Cincinnati OH. Sold in 2015 to Lukas Ruceker and Safina Oberoi, who finished a restoration in 2019. Includes the original FLW furniture. B/W photo by Ezra Stoller/ESTO.
1954 - The V. C. Morris House Scheme 2, aka Sea Cliff, San Francisco CA. Unbuilt. After the initial home was postponed in 1945, they asked Wright to prepare another plan. Mr. Morris died suddenly and Mrs. Morris did not want to go ahead alone. Wright advised her to keep the property and find something quieter and less dramatic for herself with a simpler design. She took his advice and purchased a site at Stinson Beach. "Quietwater" was a low, sheltered house that Wright designed for her, but by the time the working drawings were done, she too died.
1955 - The Maximillian (Max) Hoffman House, 58 Island Drive, Rye NY. Inside a gated community on North Manursing Island. Max Hoffman was the owner of the Manhattan Mercedes dealership which Wright designed the year prior. 3000 sf. The initial design was much larger and was rejected by Hoffman as too big. Sold in 1972 to Emily Fisher Landau, who did an extensive north wing addition designed by Taliesin Associated Architects. Sold in 1993 to Tom and Alice Tisch. Sold in 2019 to Marc Jacobs.
1955 - The Toufik H. and Mildred Kalil House, 117 Heather Street, Manchester NH. Includes an unfinished (as of 2007) mother-in-law house. Deeded in 1990 to brother John Kalil, who died in 2018 at the age of 101. Sold in 2019 with all the Wright-designed furniture to the Currier Museum of Art in Manchester NH, one of two FLW homes they own (the other is the 1951 Zimmerman). Open for tours.
1955 - The Robert H. Sunday House, aka the Cassidy House, 1701 Woodfield Drive, Marshalltown IA. Sold to Gail and James Donovan Jr. B/W photo by Wayne Andrews/ESTO.
1955 - The William (Bill) B. and Elizabeth Tracy House, 18971 Edgecliff Drive Southwest, Normandy Park WA. The house sits on a spectacular bluff overlooking the Puget Sound. After saving up to design a house, the Tracys hired Wright. They got one of his later Usonian Automatic concrete block houses. Bill Tracy fabricated the multitude of complex metal forms necessary, including all of the different wall, corner, roof, eave, jamb, and window blocks - both left and right hand. They then cast all of the concrete themselves in a vacant lot behind their apartment, and found a contractor (Brandes - who later built a Wright house himself) willing to take on the project. The innovative construction method, ahead of its time, is precedent for the insulated concrete forms now used in construction. Sold in 2012 to Charles Hoyng. Second and third photos by Jack Logan; bottom two photos by Jan-Richard Kikkert.
1955 - The Dorothy Turkel House, 2760 West Seven Mile Road, Detroit MI. 4000 sf. Wright's only two-story Usonian. Turkel and her four children lived in it until 1978. After that it went through a series of owners and fell into neglect that resulted in foreclosure. Sold in 2006 to Dale Morgan and Norman Silk who commenced a four-year renovation. Bottom two photos by Peter Forguson.
1955 - The Gerald Sussman House, aka Usonian Automatic, Rye NY. Unbuilt. As Wright's popularity grew, he could not handle the many calls for low or moderate budget custom-designed houses. As early as 1949 he began planning the Usonian Automatic, a stock plan. Concrete blocks form an outer shell and a second, more insulated wall later can be added. The ceiling was also composed of blocks set up on a wooden form, steel reinforcing rods tied into the blocks and then the whole poured in place. The result is a monolithic structure - fireproof and earthquake-proof. No color, painting, or surfacing would be required for the blocks; no maintenance or repainting would be necessary. Electrical and plumbing systems were to be modular and prefabricated.
1956 - The Harold C. Price Tower, 510 Dewey Avenue, Bartlesville OK. This 19-story multi-use skyscraper is one of only two of Wright high-rise designs that was completed. Harold C. Price asked Wright to design a building to house his company headquarters along with office space for lease, shops, and apartments. The H. C. Price Company was the primary tenant, and the remaining office floors and double height apartments intended as income-raising ventures. Architect Bruce Goff leased both an office and an apartment. Price sold the tower to Phillips Petroleum in 1981 and it was used only for storage when an exterior exit staircase was deemed unsafe. The building was donated to the Price Tower Arts Center in 2000 and it has been restored to its original multi-use origins, with art exhbitions, shopping, and hotel accommodations. In 2007 it was listed as a National Historic Landmark. Tours.
1956 - The Frank Iber House, 3000 Springville Drive, Stevens Point WI. Wright, after criticizing Marshall Erdman's prefabricated houses, designed several including this one. Photo by Ron Kovener.
1956 - The Donald and Elizabeth Duncan House, Lisle IL. They bought their Wright prefab house after she read an article about the project in the December 1956 issue of House & Home magazine. After Donald Duncan died at age 95 in 2002, the house fell derelict. Moved to Polymath Park in Acme PA. Available for tours and overnight stay.
1956 - The Dudley Spencer House, aka Laurel, 619 Shipley Road, Wilmington DE. This house is a hemicycle design (similar to a horseshoe) and is built of fieldstone. It is the only Frank Lloyd Wright design in Delaware. Sold in 2013 to David and Lucinda Pollack.
1956 - The Paul and Ada Trier House, 6880 NW Beaver Drive, Johnston IA. The original carport area was enclosed to create a playroom and shop. The design is a variant of the Usonian exhibition house Wright created for the 1953 New York "Sixty Years of Living Architecture" exhibit. Ada Trier died in 2012; deeded to heirs. Sold in 2013 to Kenneth and Jane Paulsen.
1956 - The Eugene Van Tamelen House, 5817 Anchorage Road, Madison WI. This was one of the Marshal Erdman Prefab houses. Sold to Roger Ganser. Sold to Katherine Naherny.
1956 - The Cedric G. and Patricia Boulter House, 1 Rawson Woods Circle, Cincinnati OH. Commissioned 1954. Sold in 1989 to David and Miriam Gushing. In 1997 the carport was enclosed and adjoined to an existing structure originally conceived as a maids room. Sold to Janet Goeber and Chuck Lohre. Sold in 2019 to Brook T. Smith, of Brook T. Smith Investments. Damaged by fire in 2019.
1957 - The Arnold and Lora Jackson House, 2909 West Beltline Highway, Madison WI. Commissioned 1956. Moved in 1985 to 7669 Indian Hills Trail, Beaver Dam WI. One of the Marshall Erdman Prefab houses. Available as a bed and breakfast. Sold in 2017 to unknown buyer.
1956 - The Donald E. and Virginia Lovness House, 10121 83rd Street North, Stillwater MN. Commissioned 1955. Located on 20 acres of lake property. Commissioned 1954. An 800 sf cottage (bottom two photos) was added in 1972, based on a master plan for the lake created by Wright. Sold in 2013 to Ted and Deborah Muntz.
1956 - The John L. and Joyce Rayward House, aka Tiranna, 432 Frogtown Road, New Canaan CT. Commissioned in 1955. The Noroton River runs through the property. According to Preservation Nation, Wright dammed the section of the river next to the house site to create a pond and waterfalls. Built by Allan Gelbin, who had previously built three Wright houses in Ohio: Rubin House, Dobkins House, and Feiman House. Addition in 1957 and 1958. A fountain was added in the 1960s. In 1963, the property was sold to Mid Continent Properties Inc. and in 1964 to Herman R. Shepherd and other investors.
Between 1964 and 1967, major renovations to the property were undertaken by Taliesin Associated Architects. It appears that architect John de Koven Hill designed the additions with assistance from architect William Wesley Peters (Wright's son-in-law). Gelbin acted as supervisor on the project and the contractor was Tom Riordan of Norwalk. New landscaping was designed by landscape architects Charles Middeleer and Frank Masao Okamura. They took much of the custom-built furnishings with them when they moved. In 1980, the property was sold to Ranko Santric. Sold in 1992 to Theodore (Ted) and Vada S. Stanley who completed an extensive restoration of the house and landscape through 1996 with John de Koven Hill, interior designer Ronald Bricke, and landscape architects Heritage Landscape. Transferred in 2011 to the Stanley/Friese Family Trust. Sold in 2018 to Diego and Lia Ferro.
1957 - The Carl Post House, aka the Al Borah House, 265 Donlea Road, Barrington IL. Al Borah was the builder but he never lived in the home. One of the Marshall Erdman's "U-Form-It" prefabricated houses. Sold in 2006 to the Kathleen Wytmar Trust.
1957 - The Arthur Miller and Marilyn Monroe House, Roxbury CT. Unbuilt. Actress Marilyn Monroe called Wright about building a house with Miller. An appointment was made and she came to Wright's Plaza apartment alone. The house that Wright designed for her was based on the Robert Windfohr design of 1949. Before work could be started on the house, Monroe separated from Miller.
1957 - The Walter Rudin House, 110 Marinette Trail, Madison WI. Frank Lloyd Wright, after criticizing Marshall Erdman's "U-Form-It" prefabricated houses, designed several including this one. As of 2009 owned by Mary Rudin. Sold in 2013 to Rachel Betzen and Thomas P. Littlefield. Top photo by Peter Beers.
1957 - The James B. McBean House, 1532 Woodland Drive, Rochester MN. Frank Lloyd Wright, after criticizing Marshall Erdman's "U-Form-It" prefabricated houses, designed several including this one. Sold to Donald Feist.
1957 - The Sterling and Dorothy Ann Kinney House, 4009 Tascosa Road, Amarillo TX. Bottom photo by Kenneth Jackson.
1957 - The JJ Vallarino House II, Panama City FL. Commissioned 1956. Unsure if built.
1957 - Studio/Residence for Archie and Patricia Teater, aka Teater's Knoll, 583 River Road, Bliss ID. Commissioned 1952. Tom Casey, Wright's apprentice, supervised the original construction and was involved in later renovations. The couple lived in the home in the spring and fall until the mid 1970s when Archie became ill. Last diagram from the Frank Lloyd Wright Companion by William Allin Storrer.
The home sat vacant until 1982. Sold to Henry R. Whiting II, great-nephew of Taliesin apprentice Alden Dow. He started a massive restoration including fixing the roof, replacing 100 windows, restoring the exterior wood siding, and enlarging the kitchen and bathrooms. Henry Whiting II wrote several books about restoring this house. Photos by Henry Whiting II. In the early 1990s a bathroom required restoration after a fire. Unable to sell in 1992, Whiting rented it to a sculptor, Lynn Fawcett, who in 1994 became his wife. She and Whiting met when he was hired by her parents to design a koi pond for the 1961 Fawcett house. Together they finished the restoration of the studio/residence.
1957 - The Carl E. Schultz House, 2704 Highland Court, St. Joseph MI. Addition to expand master bedroom and bath completed in the mid-1960s by Taliesin Architects. Sold in 2008 to Doug and Cindy Laferle who did a restoration. Website.
1957 - Wright designed a float for the 1957 Rose Bowl Parade.
1958 - The Seth C. Peterson Cottage, 9982 Ferndell Road, Lake Delton WI. 880 sf. Wright's smallest house. In early 1960, as the cottage neared completion, Peterson, depressed over Wright's death as well as a number of personal issues, tragically took his own life. The next owner finished the structure. By 1966, the house went to the state as part of a nearby state park. State officials boarded off the property, and it fell into disrepair and vandalism. A three-year, $300,000 restoration was completed in 1992. Owned by the Mirror Lake Association. Available for overnight stay. Featured in the documentary Jewel of the Woods.
1958 - The Joseph Mollica House, 1001 West Jonathon Lane, Bayside WI. Commissioned 1956. One of Marshall Erdman's prefabricated houses. Sold to Sylvia Ashton. Sold in 2018 Nicholas Goodhue.
1958 - The John A. Gillin House, 9400 Rockbrook Drive, Dallas TX. Commissioned 1950. Even Frank Lloyd Wright could not resist the Texan's impulse to build large. This 11,000 square foot home sprawls along the seven acre site in the best of Texas traditions. Wright's last home constructed before his death. Sold to Michael Bishop. Renovated in 2005. Featured in the movie Bottle Rocket. Photo by Doug Newby.
1958 - The Duey and Julia Wright House, 904 Grand Avenue, Wausau WI. Commissioned 1957. These Wrights were no relation to FLW. Photos by MJ Hettinger. Sold to Esther Gillis.
1959 - The William P. Boswell House, 8805 Camargo Club Drive, Cincinnati OH. Commissioned 1957. 5400 sf. Boswell lived there about 50 years. In 2003, the house was renovated, the heating/cooling system was updated and wood surfaces refinished. When he died, his daughter sold the home for $1M less than market value to keep it from being demolished. Sold in 2008 to Sareh Inc. Became a guest house for foreign visitors.
1959 - The William and Catherine Cass House, aka Crimson Beech, 48 Manor Court, Staten Island NY. Commissioned 1956. One of Marshall Erdman's prefabricated houses. Pool added in the 1970s. Sold around 1987 to Jeanne and Frank Cretella, still owners as of 2015.
1959 - The Helen Donahoe Triptych, Paradise Valley AZ. Unbuilt. This is the last drawing to bear Frank Lloyd Wright's signature. Donahoe wanted a winter home that would accommodate not only herself but also have provision for two complete additional dwellings for visiting family. After Wright died on April 9, Donohoe waited several months before paying for the preliminary drawings. After much pressure, she paid only a small percentage of what she owed.
1959 - The Allen Friedman House, 200 Thornapple Lane, Bannockburn IL. Commissioned 1956. This was the last Wright house built during Wright's lifetime. 3,500 sf. Sold to a second owner who made significant changes unfaithful to the original design. Saved from demolition in 2001 by the third owners, Jamal and Salwa Alwattar.
1959 - The Luis and Ethel Marden House, aka Fontinalis, 600 Chain Bridge Road, McLean VA. Commissioned 1952. Located on a cliff overlooking the Potomac. 2600 sf. Luis Marden was a photographer for National Geographic. Sold to 411 CBR LLC, controlled by James Kimsey (founder of AOL) in 2000 for $2.5 million and the condition that Ethel Marden could go on living there as long as she was able. Another condition was that the home could not be demolished or changed significantly on the outside. Ethel Marden moved to a retirement community in 2003. Kimsey built a new house next door and did a careful restoration to the Marden House, finishing around 2006. Sold in 2020.
1967 - The Norman Lykes House, 6836 North 36th Street, Phoenix AZ. Commissioned 1959. This was the last house Wright designed before his death. Built by Wright apprentice John Rattenbury. Sold in 1994 to Linda Melton who had Rattenbury do a restoration. House details. Sold in 2019 to Kamyar Hakimnia. For sale in 2020.
1959 - Wright dies on April 9.
1960 - The Andrew B. and Maude Cooke House, 320 51st Street, Virginia Beach VA. Located on Crystal Lake. Commissioned 1953. Sold in 1983 to Ronald Zedd. Sold in 2002 to Jane and Daniel Duhl, who restored the house and won an AIA Hampton Roads award. A 14-foot swim spa was installed in a stepped down terrace overlooking Crystal Lake. In order to accommodate the mechanisms needed to operate the swim spa, a large underground bunker was built into the dune above the lake, including a sauna and an exercise room. Also at lakeside are two docks; one floating for small boats and a larger dock which can accommodate two large yachts. Sold in 2016 to Floyd Kurloff. Bottom two photos by Steve Cofer.
1960 - The Edward and Laura Jane LaFond House, 29710 Kipper Road, St. Joseph MN. Commissioned 1956. Sold in 2010 to the Myra L. Schrupp Revocable Trust.
1960 - The Paul C. and Helen Olfelt House, 2206 Parklands Lane, St. Louis Park MN. Commissioned 1958. Completed by Taliesin architects after Wright's death in 1959. Sold for the first time in 2019 to John and Kathy Junek, who removed much of the original cabinetry and plan a $2M addition. Sold for the first time in April 2018 to John and Kathy Junek who planned to do some major renovations.
1961 - The George Ablin House, 4260 Country Club Drive, Bakersfield CA. On the golf course. Commissioned 1958. Six bedrooms. Has a trianglular pool. Included a priceless collection of Wright-designed furniture. The Ablins lived there for over 50 years. Sold in 2005 to Michael and Katheleen Glick.
1961 - The Randall (Buck) and Harriett D. Fawcett House, 21200 Center Avenue, Los Banos CA. Commissioned 1955. Fawcett met Wright while taking an architecture course. 80 acres. Fawcett died in 2006 and the house was on the market for years while the heirs tried to sell it. Kevin B. Wagner lived there as a caretaker for about two years. Sold in 2012 to Ken and Carrie Cox. Restoredin 2014 by architect Arthur Dyson with assistance from Eric Lloyd Wright and the original interior designer, Cornelia Brierly. The restoration won an Award of Excellence for Historic Restoration from AIA Sierra Valley.
1961 - The Robert and Mary Walton House, 417 Hogue Road, Modesto CA. Commissioned 1957. The house has a full set of Wright-designed furniture. Sold in 2012 to the Mary Walton Trust.
1961 - The Socrates and Celeste Zaferiou House, 48 Clausland Mountain Road, Blauvelt NY. Commissioned 1956. A Marshall Erdman Prefab house. Sold for the first time in September 2014 to Sarah and Robert Magness.
1963 - The Frank Bott House, 3640 NW Briarcliff, Kansas City MO. Commissioned 1959. The home was built on the side of a hill that overlooks the city with the living room cantilevered out over the bluff. Sold around 2003 to Homer Williams, architect, who occasionally opens the house for tours.
1963 - The Don M. Stromquist House, 1289 East Canyon Creek Drive, Bountiful UT. Commissioned 1958. Restored in 1990.
1962 - The Don McHenry House, 541 M Avenue, Boulder City NV. Wright did the initial design. Wright protege Harry Thompson (McHenry's brother-in-law) was hired after Wright's death to finish the house while making it smaller and more affordable to build. Built by McHenry. Sold in 1999 to Shields Family Trust. Sold in 2017 to Igor and Olga Sushko.
1964 - The Conrad E. and Evelyn Gordon House, originally on the Williamette River near Wilsonville OR. Commissioned 1957. Descendants of the Gordons sold the property in 2000. Moved to 869 West Main Street, Silverton OR, in 2002. Public tours available.
1964 - The Theodore A. (Ted) and Bette K. Pappas House, 865 Masonridge Road, St. Louis MO. Not 8654 as widely reported. Commissioned 1955. Four bedrooms. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1979 at only 15 years old. In 1985, Bette Pappas wrote a book about the house, No Passing Fancy. Sold for the first time in 2020 to the Frank Lloyd Wright Revival Initiative (Michael Miner).
1974 - The Joe and Hilary Feldman House, 13 Mosswood Road, Berkeley CA. Built from plans of Wright's unbuilt 1939 Lewis N. Bell House in Los Angeles. Sold in 1980 to Jeanne Allen and Mark Grant. Deeded in 2010 to The Allen Trust.
1974 - The Arthur E. and Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer House, 12345 Taliesin Drive, Scottsdale AZ. Commissioned 1971. Based on the unbuilt Ralph Jester House in Palos Verdes CA. Built for one of the Taliesin architects Arthur Bruce's father. When Bruce passed away in December of 2017, the house was to be deeded to the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation. Bruce was the founding director of the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation Archives, which he saw donated to the Avery Architectural and Fine Arts Library at Columbia University in 2012.
1979 - The Frederick Haddock House, aka the Whiteford-Haddock House, 3935 Holden Drive, Ann Arbor MI. Based on Wright's designfor the Roy Peterson House, Racine WI, updated by Wright protege Charles Mantooth. Sold in 2019.
1981 - The Otto and Ronnie Bendheim House, Phoenix AZ. Based on the unbuilt 1942 Lloyd Burlingham House. Destroyed in 2004.
1984 - The Klotsche-Soeiro House, aka the Pottery House, 1430 Vista Canada Ancha, Santa Fe NM. Based on an unbuilt 1942 Wright design, Lloyd Burlingham. Charles Klotsche, a real estate developer from Wisconsin, purchased the plans from Taliesin. Ray Valdez from Santa Fe was the contractor with construction supervised by Taliesin Architects. Built from adapted plans by Charles Montooth and Wesley Peters. The original design was 2400sf; what got built was 5000sf. Sold to Andrea and Sancho Soeiro. For sale in 2011. Gated community, no public access.
1987 - The West House, 6121 Turkey Run Court, Manassas VA. Based on an unbuilt 1947 design for Vincent Scully in CT. Supervised by Taliesin Architects. Sold in 1992 to John N. and Marilyn Williams.
1996 - The R. Sanderson (Sandy) Sims House, 62-2145A Ouli Street, Waimea HI. First designed in 1954 as the Cornwall House, ground was broken for this house in 1992 and it was finished in 1996. It was originally intended by the owner to serve as a focus home for a project called the "Hawaii Collection," a compilation of Wright's unbuilt designs planned for construction on 450 acres about a mile down the road from the focus house. The collection idea did take root on Maui in 1989 with the construction of a clubhouse based on a composite of home designs by Wright (executed by the Taliesin Architects) and a license to build 30 of Wright's original designs. The collapse of the Japanese stock market in 1990 killed the project. John Rattenbury was supervising architect. Available for rent.
2002 - The John and Kay Berno House, 347 Amazon Avenue, Cincinnati OH. The Bernos bought their lot in 2000 with the dream of having a Frank Lloyd Wright house and approached Taliesin Architects for an unbuilt Wright design. Architect Bill Mims oversaw the project and Jack Brand, a contractor from Cincinnati, built it, making adjustments such as adding central air conditioning and a deeper foundation to ensure stability on the hillside lot.
2002 - The Bob and Deanna Wright House, Brown Canyon, Park City UT. 66 acres. Bob was a grandnephew of FLW and a fan of his work. The original plan was commissioned for a Michigan couple in 1956. The walls are made of foam block insulation filled with cement. Sold. Photos by TJ Leise.
2002 - The Gale House Clone, aka the Gale House Knockoff, 1025 North West Street, Wheaton IL. This is a good copy of Wright's Gale House. Obviously, not designed directly by Wright. Sold in 2015 to Gregory S. Beard.
2004 - The Wayne McBroom House, 329 Huck Finn Drive, Shenandoah Farms, Front Royal VA. John Rattenbury of Taliesin Architects was the supervising architect and Ivan Shongov was the project manager. Based on an unbuilt 1947 Wright design for Ruth Keith in 1947. According to McBroom, the original plan was "flipped" so that the house's split-level configuration would work better on the site. Bottom two photos by Wayne McBroom.
2007 - The Christopher Ljungkull and James Seidl Cottage, 14785 Ostlund Trail North, Marine On St Croix MN. Based on the 1959 Lovness Cottage. Revival architect, Uppgren.
2008 - The Marc Coleman House, Greystones County, Wicklow, Ireland. Commissioned 2007. This is Europe's only Wright-designed house, originally commissioned in 1959 for Gilbert Wieland in Maryland but never built. Marc Coleman dealt with E. Thomas Casey, who had trained under Wright and went on to become a Dean at Taliesin West. When Casey passed away a year and a half before construction, fellow Taliesin architects Bruce Brooks Pfeiffer and Oscar Munoz took over the project, with help from Effi Casey, his widow and Wright expert. 3860 square feet, centered around a large living room. The architect of record is CMB Design Group with planning consultant Tom Creed Architect. The contractor was James N. Earls & Sons & Daughters Construction.
2013 - The Sharp Family Visitor's Center, Florida Southern College, Lakeland FL. Wright did many of the original buildings on the campus. Over time, campus planners abandoned or diluted Wright's master plan. This new Visitor's Center was modified from one of Wright's unused 1939 designs for faculty housing.
2014 - The Hugh Petter House, Tyntesfield Springs, Wraxell, near Bristol, England, UK. Adaptation of the unbuilt 1947 O'Keeffe House. Petter negotiated for eight years with the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation to gain permission to build it. In late 2014 a city planning inspector blocked plans for the home submitted by Stephen Brooks Architects on grounds that it is not of "exceptional quality or of an innovative nature."